Mid Week Tease: All For Love

MWTease15Good morning. Well, it’s definitely spring. We have leaves and lilacs, rhubarb and dandelions. Last week the temperature got up to 84 F (29 C) and life was good. Of course, last night the kids played softball and it was only 41 F (9 C), so it felt more like football weather than softball, but it won’t last and and we will see the heat again in about 3 weeks!

Thank you for all the wonderful feedback I received on The White Carnation. It’s helpful to know the scenes I choose say what I hope they do. Today, I’m going to introduce you to a new book. All for Love will be released by Anaiah Press on May 26, but can be pre-ordered now. It’s a romance-suspense novel.

To overcome your fear, you must first face it.

Someone is out to destroy Greg Simmons and everyone he has ever loved. After an accident leaves his teenage daughter depressed and distraught, Greg will do anything to make her happy again, including hiring a bodyguard to protect her.

Olivia Marshall lost both her fiancé and her cousin in a deadly avalanche. She has vowed never to set foot on a ski hill again. But now, working as a bodyguard with Anderson Security, Olivia must face her greatest fears to save Greg and his daughter.

Something about Olivia’s determination strikes a chord in Greg, but will she be the salvation he needs, or will he be her destruction?

http://www.amazon.com/All-Love-Susanne-Matthews-ebook/dp/B00VP3TO94/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1431514398&sr=8-1&keywords=All+for+Love+Susanne+Matthews

This week’s Tease:

ALL-FOR-LOVEKINDLE-NOOK (1)“Things have gotten more complicated than I expected. Sheena came home from the hospital last Friday, and she’s absolutely miserable. She misses her mother and her old life. She’s accusing me of keeping her prisoner. I’ve done my best to reason with her, but she’s in pain, and I can’t reach her. We’re strangers, thanks to her mother, and that doesn’t make any of this any easier on either of us.”
Tim let out a breath and shook his head. “That’s got to be tough.”
Frustrated, Greg ran his free hand through his unbound hair. At his age, most of his friends were going bald, but he had more than enough hair for two men. Maybe it was time to consider getting it cut.
“You have no idea. I’ll be back at Haven for Christmas, but it’ll be a miserable holiday to be sure. The last thing my daughter wants is to spend time with me.”
Tim touched his shoulder, and the compassion in his eyes was almost Greg’s undoing. He swallowed hard. This was the opening he’d been waiting for.
“Now that you have a daughter, Tim, wouldn’t you move Heaven and Earth to make her happy and keep her safe?”
Anxiously, he watched the play of emotions across Tim’s face. Only a year apart in age, neither man had been part of the Robertson family in their early years. As boys, they’d attended the same boarding school and had grown close. Tim, who controlled Robertson Enterprises, the conglomerate of businesses the family owned and ran, had been instrumental in getting his first book published, and Greg owed him for a lot more than the annual stipend all Robertson family members got.
Tim rubbed his chin beard, a tell-tale sign of his concern or confusion—possibly both. Greg needed him to understand his desperation. Tim was his only shot at making this possible. While money wasn’t an obstacle, there wasn’t enough time to try and orchestrate this from scratch.
“I’d do anything for my daughter,” Tim answered slowly. “Jessie means the world to me. I’m sorry Nadia’s dead, but she wasn’t one of my favorite people. She never struck me as overly maternal, which is why I couldn’t understand her refusal to give you more time with your daughter. Seeing Sheena for two weeks a year didn’t allow much of an opportunity for you to build a relationship. It was cruel and self-centered of her.”
“Nadia was what she was. I’ll not speak ill of the dead,” he said, slipping back into his Scottish brogue. “No one can change the past. It’s the living I’ve got to protect.”
“What do you want from me?”
“I need your help. I know I’ve no right to ask you to do this, but I can’t lose my daughter—not now that I have a chance to be the dad I’ve always wanted to be.”
“You’re family, Greg, and family does what it has to do. It took me a while to learn that. Whatever you need, you’ve got. Start at the beginning and tell me everything.”

Check out the other teasers.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mid Week Tease: All For Love

  1. Great snippet, Susanne, and that’s another lovely cover!

  2. siobhanmuir says:

    It’s always good to have someone at your back. Good tease, Susanne. 🙂

  3. very intriguing tease.

  4. dorisoconnor says:

    Great tease, Susanne. Yours always intrigue me to read more 🙂

Leave a Reply

