She’ Back! Melinda De Ross Re-releases Dante’s Amulet

Good morning, Happy May 1st! The leaves are starting to come in, the temperature is milder and it’s time to start getting outside and working in the garden.

11164557_445640178951226_4317275514297331926_nIt’s my pleasure today to welcome my old friend, Melinda De Ross to Living the Dream. Some of you may remember from earlier blogs, that as well as being a talented author who makes Romania home, Melinda is a gifted cover artist. She’s designed the covers for four of my books, as well as her own.

Melinda De Ross lives in her native Romania with her husband and a pair of rude parrots. She attended Law School, got her degree but worked as a journalist for several newspapers, polishing her writing skills.

It never occurred to her that she wanted a career as an author until she began writing, as therapy to get perspective on a crucial part of her life.

Melinda was a professional target shooter for a decade, winning multiple National Championships. She was breaking records in her teens until health issues forced her to give up the sport.

Out of that heartbreak, Rendezvous with Faith—her first novel— started taking shape and so began her career as a Romantic Suspense author.

Other books by Melinda De Ross include:

  • Rendezvous with Faith (initially published under the title Rendezvous with Hymera);
  • Unabridged;
  • Mirage Beyond Flames;
  • Dante’s Amulet;
  • Chronicles of The Blood Countess;
  • Be My Valentine;
  • A Touch Of Poetry.

She loves to hear from her readers, and you can find her at:

http://melindadeross.com/

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Melinda-De-Ross/513999791983330

https://twitter.com/melinda_de_ross

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7163748.Melinda_De_Ross

Dante's Amulet - Final FCHere’s a peek at Dante’s Amulet:

Italian businessman Giovanni Coriola and English target-shooting trainer Sonia Galsworthy have only two things in common—a sizzling chemistry and no desire for commitment. When they meet in London, the world starts spinning faster and they quickly become addicted to each other. The incendiary passion between them skyrockets into smoldering, once-in-a-lifetime love.

Just as they thought they had things settled, a strange discovery triggers a mysterious spiral of events that puts their lives in danger more than once, with no apparent reason.

What connection could there be between an ancient amulet, a secret society and the long-dead poet Dante Alighieri? A sinister, complicated conspiracy that gradually catches up with the characters. And of course, one last twist before the ending.

*Dante’s Amulet is a follow-up of Mirage Beyond Flames.

Outside was indeed freezing and big snowflakes fell lavishly, dancing over the city. She was too cold to enjoy the beauty of the December night. Her teeth chattered as she hugged herself tightly. Giovanni noticed. He unzipped his jacket and, wrapping an arm around her, he pulled her to him, so she was half-covered by his jacket as he held her close with a strong arm. Grateful for the warmth of his body, she cuddled against him, putting her arm around his waist.

“I…really…have to start buying…practical clothes,” she said through shivers.

“I can’t argue there. Though it’s sexy as hell, this coat is fit for spring, not winter.”

They reached her car and she immediately started the engine, waiting for the heater to blast warm air. He sat in the passenger seat, looking at her worriedly.

“Are you okay? You look like a popsicle,” he remarked. “Maybe you caught a cold.”

“Don’t worry. I do this every year,” she assured him. “I never get sick. I suppose my body has adjusted to my fashion sense.”

She drove back to the shooting range and parked next to his car. The parking lot was deserted, as usual for every Saturday night. She turned to him.

“Thanks for inviting me to the party. And for the doughnuts. I’ll see you tomorrow night at eight.”

“Can I have your phone number?” he asked, getting out his own cell phone from his pocket.

Sonia told him her number as he touched the figures on the screen of his iPhone.

“Got it?”

“Yes, thank you.”

“Okay, then. I’ll see you tomorrow,” she repeated, feeling like an idiot.

“I’ll be expecting you,” he said huskily. He stretched out a hand and brushed her cheek gently, then traced a finger down her lips. His touch was electrifying, his eyes locked on hers with an almost palpable intensity. She laid her head on her seat’s headrest, as her heartbeats drummed in her ears.

She knew he was going to kiss her and she wished for it so much she ached. She closed her eyes, feeling his breath on her lips, his hand cupping the back of her head. His sensual lips touched hers and an explosion of passion made her dizzy when she tasted his hot tongue. He pulled her closer, deepening the kiss, and her tongue explored his mouth without restraint. His hand slid to her ribcage, gently at first, then his grip tightened as the smoldering pressure built between them, making her stomach tighten. Her chest rose and fell rapidly, and she yearned to be caressed by his strong hands. He stroked the side of her breast and she moaned softly, her breath mixing with his. When his hand squeezed her breast, discovering it bare through the thin material, they both gasped.

He tore his mouth from hers, whispering roughly, “God, Sonia, I want you so much.”

He supported his forehead on hers, while they both breathed heavily. The car windows were steamy, but not nearly as steamy as their skin, which was feverish with desire. Sonia doubted she could feel cold even if he dragged her outside in the snow, naked, and made love to her right there. She bit her lip and pressed her palms to her burning cheeks. Giovanni had probably mistaken her gesture, because he drew back a little.

He looked her in the eyes, intently, saying in that same rough voice, “I’m sorry if I’ve offended you. It’s just that…I couldn’t stop myself. This attraction I feel for you is more powerful than anything I’ve ever experienced. I never lose control, Sonia, but…I can’t be around you and not touch you. Do you feel it too?”

She nodded slowly, their eyes still locked, as their bodies longed to be.

“I do, Giovanni. Don’t apologize. I wanted you to touch me, but I don’t want you to think I’m…easy.”

“I could never think that,” he told her, brushing her hair away from her forehead. “You are special, Sonia. I’m not just saying that so I can sleep with you—though God as my witness, I want you more than anything. What I feel when I’m with you is special, and I sense you feel that too.”

She sighed deeply, gazing at him.

“I do feel it and it scares the hell out of me. I hoped it was just my hormones, since it’s been over a year since I…had a relationship. I only had a couple of lovers, Giovanni. I’m not a party girl, not the kind you must be used to. Maybe you just want a change, something to distract you during your vacation. It’s all right.” She hastily raised a hand to stall the protest she saw coming from him. “I told you I’m not looking for a commitment either, so…I’m okay with this. We should just enjoy each other—no strings attached.”

He looked at her as though he wanted to say something, but decided against it.

“Okay,” he said. “I’ll call you tomorrow.”

He kissed her swiftly and got out of the car.

She sat in her own car, watching his headlights fading into the night and waiting for her heart to settle. She prayed she’d be able to pick up the broken pieces of her soul when he left her and returned to Italy.

Dante’s Amulet is available from many ebook retailers including:

http://www.amazon.com/Dantes-Amulet-Melinda-Ross-ebook/dp/B00WRTTYOU/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1430489128&sr=8-4&keywords=dante%27s+amulet

One thought on “She’ Back! Melinda De Ross Re-releases Dante’s Amulet

Leave a Reply

