Posted in Uncategorized

Look Who Dropped By Today: Megan O’Russell

Writing books in a series where the main characters remain the same is harder than writing a new plot. I ashed Megan to tell me a little about the challenge she faced writing book Two of her series. Take it away, Megan.

downloadMy premier novel was The Tethering, and now after a thrilling year, book two in the series, The Siren’s Realm, has arrived.

Getting The Siren’s Realm ready for publication was very different in many ways. I knew a lot more about the editing and publication process this time around, which made a lot of things much less stressful. But there were things like cover design that were harder. When I first started talking to the designer about The Tethering, I pretty much knew what I wanted. The tree of life consumed in flames and the hands reaching toward each other. All of those things were important symbols in The Tethering, and I was lucky enough to have an artist who managed to bring all of those elements together.

For The Siren’s Realm I wanted to have a cover that complemented The Tethering, that continued the same theme and helped show the two books as a unit. I was lucky enough to be able to use the same artist, but finding what elements of the story should be portrayed was more difficult. I am thrilled with the result, but finding the continuity between the stories while making The Siren’s Realm cover intriguing in its own right was challenging.

TSR_ebookAnd that challenge translated into the actual writing of The Siren’s Realm. All the primary players are the same, the world is the same, but everything else is different. The characters lives have changed. They’ve grown, learned, and been hurt. The Siren’s Realm finds them in a magical world embroiled in a magical war. The rules of safety and survival are changing for these characters on a daily basis.

Simple things like taking someone’s hand has a different meaning now. So, where do you draw the line between old habits and new realizations?

You can’t completely change the way characters interact. Then you’d be negating all the building you did in book one. The challenge comes in creating believable ways for your characters to evolve under changing circumstances that allow the essence of the characters to remain the same.

Jacob Evans is still Jacob Evans. He is scarred and changed. He joined a magical world that has begun to crumble. But he still loves Emilia Gray. And that is what he as a character has to hold onto. It is the thread that leads the reader from one book to another and turns two books into the beginning of a series.

About The Siren’s Realm

Jacob loves Emilia Gray, but things aren’t always that simple in the world of Magickind…

The war has begun.

The Dragons are gaining power, and the Gray Clan stands alone. Desperate to find a way to stop the Pendragon, Emilia is forced to seek answers from someone who hasn’t been seen in seventeen years… Her mother. Embarking on a magical journey filled with witches, wizards, centaurs and a dangerous and powerful Siren, Jacob and Emilia must take a leap of faith to a land neither could have ever imagined… and hope they can then find their way home.

You can get Megan’s books through:

Goodreads links

The Tethering Buy links

The Siren’s Realm Buy Links

About the Author:

Megan O’Russell is thrilled to have her premier novel The Tethering published with Silence in the Library Publishing. Book two in The Tethering series, The Siren’s Realm, is currently available for pre-order. Megan’s work can also be found the anthology Athena’s Daughter’s 2.

Originally from New York, Megan is a professional actress who spends her time traveling the country for different shows. When not on stage or writing, Megan spends time with her beloved ukulele and her wonderful husband. To follow Megan’s writing adventures, you can

visit her website at

Twitter: @MeganORussell




Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have published 24 manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s