A to Z Challenge: Y is for Youth

a-to-z HEADER [2015] - aprilWell, we’re a day away from the end of the challenge and it’s been an incredible journey this year. As we’ve traveled along this route together, I’ve met new friends and read excellent blogs on literally everything fro A to Z.

Badage linkedThis morning, as everything winds down, I’d like to blog about youth or rather lost youth. As the saying goes, “you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone.” I never appreciated my youth. I always wanted to be older so I could do this, that, and the other thing,. Now that I have to admit I’m no spring chicken, not even a young pullet, but an old hen, I finally understand that wishing for something doesn’t make it so.

Y is for Youth

I once heard someone say, youth is wasted on the young, and I think that’s right, Young people don’t understand what a wonderful gift youth is. They can stay up late, burn the candle at both ends, participate in all kinds of thrilling activities, and get up the next day full of vim and vigor and ready to take on the world.

YI regret not taking advantage of my youth to do more of that. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t regret my life, nor would I change any of it, but I might’ve tried more things, things I can’t do today. For example, my niece set a Canadian Master’s weight lifting record on Sunday. Imagine that, and because of the arthritis in my wrists, I can’t even lift a 25 pound turkey out of the oven.

The biggest thing I’ve lost now that my youth has passed is my flexibility.  Oh, I can go with the flow as well as ever, but parts of me no longer move the way they did. I may still be young at heart, and have a youthful spirit, but I have an old woman’s body. I can’t get up and down as easily as I could, and my balance isn’t what it was. The few yoga poses I could handle are beyond me now, and the bottom line is that it’s all my fault.

If I had used and moved my body more, those joints might not have stiffened the way they did. People older than me can do more than I can because I didn’t do what I should’ve when I could’ve. I was too bust to exercise and because I didn’t I’ve lost the capacity to do things I used to. So, let this be a lesson to you. Don’t do as I did. While you’re young flex your joints. Lift weights, bend, twist, do yoga, because once that youthful ability to move is gone, you can’t get it back.

Check out the other Y blogs.

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/p/a-to-z-challenge-sign-uplist-2015.html

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

