A to Z Challenge: U is for UGH!

a-to-z HEADER [2015] - aprilWell, as some of my friends have posted this morning, “I’d have enjoyed spring more if I’d realized it was only going to last three days.” Yup, you’ve got it. Old Man Winter is doing an encore. We’re expecting snow today. UGH!

Badage linkedToday is Day 21 of the A to Z Challenge. As we near the end of the alphabet, it gets harder and harder to find something interesting to write about, because, let’s face it, the last few letters of the alphabet just aren’t that popular!

If you don’t believe me, have a look in the dictionary. There are a lot fewer pages once you get past T.

Today, is U-day. I struggled with that letter until I looked at today’s weather and saw the dismal forecast. UGH! Don’t get me wrong. Believe it or not, my region has been spared the worst of the weather the last few years. It’s almost as if we

‘re under some kind of force field that channels all the worst of it away from us. I’m not complaining, exactly, just that it’s about time we had some nice weather instead of the blah weather we’ve had–but I’ll take blah over torrential rain, hurricanes, cyclones, or what have you any day.

U is for UGH!

UUgh isn’t a word exactly, although my computer dictionary recognizes it as one. It’s an example of onomatopoeia,a poetic devise where a word imitates a sound. Ugh is the sound I made when I’m dismally disappointed and dismayed about something. There are many things that can make me go ugh, and the weather is just one of them. Looking at the closet and trying to decide what to wear is another ugh point in my life. There must be some nasty little imp that hides in my closet and does something to make my clothes fit incorrectly–either too big or too tight. They weren’t that way when i bought them, so what gives. The other part of closet ughs is deciding what to wear. When I find a garment that fits half-decently, I pull it out and put it on. By now, since cold weather has gone on forever the last few winters, my warmer clothing has seen better days, and frankly, I’m sick of wearing the same thing.  UGH! Another day in a turtleneck with jeans and warm socks.

Another thing that can make me say UGH! is the news. I’m kind of sick of hearing only depressing stuff. Would it be too much to have all the channels report only good news, even if only for one day. UGH!

Well, that’s it for today. Now that I’ve totally ruined your good mood, why not click on the sunflower and see what others think of the letter U.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A to Z Challenge: U is for UGH!

  1. anytime i start to complain about the weather i remember all my brethren and sistern(?) in Canada. Ya’ll are practically right up there next to the North Pole with all that snow and cold weatter. Ugh is right!

Leave a Reply

