A to Z Challenge: Q is for Quality

a-to-z HEADER [2015] - aprilHello again. As we start the third full week of the A to Z Challenge, I’m hoping spring really has arrived. It’s still cool out, but the buds are on the trees. last year, we didn’t have any leaves until mid-May, so if they come in April I’ll be thrilled.

Badage linkedToday is an exciting day for me. It’s the release day for my latest book, The White Carnation, the first book in The Harvester Series, and I hope it does well. I have high hopes for this book.

As I was getting ready to post this morning, I have to admit, I wasn’t sure what to write about. Q isn’t your normal run of the mill letter. I considered all the Q words I could think of: quaint, quiet, quite, qualify, queen, quintessential… you get the idea, but none of them really spoke to me. Then I thought of quality.

QSo, without further ado, Q is for Quality. According to Dictionary .com, quality has fifteen meanings as a noun and another three as an adjective.

 So what do I think of quality?  When I think of quality as an adjective, I think of it as the best of something. When I think of it as a noun, I think kindness, goodness, but I also think of it as ability. Yesterday we went to watch the Raisin River Canoe Races. Those canoeists who were quality paddlers, had no trouble shooting the dam and the rapids that followed, but the less experienced ones–well, after they capsized most of them couldn’t even empty their canoes without help from the firefighters nearby.
After the race, we went to The Grand Hotel–pretentious name for a small town bar and restaurant, but a friend was playing, and we wanted a beverage. We had the kids with us. One of my granddaughters has star-quality. She’s cute as a button, and loves to sing. Since the restaurant wasn’t busy, Al made that little girl’s day. He let her join the band and sing a few songs. That’s quality. On his part for being a wonderful, caring friend, on hers for having the guts to get up there and sing.
Don’t forget to check out the other Q blogs by clicking on the sunflower.
Leave a Reply

