A to Z Challenge : L is for Love

a-to-z HEADER [2015] - aprilGood morning. Welcome to Day 12 of the A to Z Challenge. The sun is shining, and it’s another gorgeous day. We seem to have jumped from winter directly into summer, by-passing spring. Yesterday, the temperature went up to 24 C, that’s 75 F, the perfect temperature as far as I’m concerned, and today should be more of the same. I love this kind of weather!

Badage linkedToday, on the A to Z challenge, I’d like to talk about love. The English language is pitifully inadequate when it comes to describing that complex emotion. It’s very much like the French word “aimer”.  It’s a “one size fits all” kind of word. I can find at least 25 different words to describe the color “blue” exactly as I see it, and yet there’s only one word to express the most complex emotion I can feel.

Sure I can like things, but liking isn’t the same as loving, and we all know it. I like red  jujubes, but I love the black ones. We love food, activities, places,but is that the right word to describe mundane feelings that come and go? I love camping–as long as it doesn’t rain.

So, without further ado, let’s talk about today’s letter: L  as is L is for Love. What is love? According to the Bible, in 1 Corinthians 13:4-8a, Paul describes love this way:L

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.Love never fails.

When I think of the love I have for my family, these words fit perfectly, although I am very proud of them,, and truth be told, they could push my buttons in a second, so in Shakespeare’s words–there’s the rub. Parents love their children like this. We don’t dwell on the negatives, but  remember the good times. No matter what they do, in the end, they are our children and our hearts belong to them. The nicest thing about love is there’s always enough for everyone.

There’s another aspect of love that tends to dominate out lives when we select mates. That’s the love we have for the one person who touches our soul. Everything Paul said is true of this love, too, but it goes deeper. The most often quoted love poem is  Sonnet 43, How Do I Love Thee, By Elizabeth Barrett Browning which captures the essence of my feelings for my husband..

heartHow do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height

My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight

For the ends of being and ideal grace.

I love thee to the level of every day’s

Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.

I love thee freely, as men strive for right.

I love thee purely, as they turn from praise.

I love thee with the passion put to use

In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.

I love thee with a love I seemed to lose

With my lost saints. I love thee with the breath,

Smiles, tears, of all my life; and, if God choose,

I shall but love thee better after death.

Those words sum up my feelings quite nicely.

Sadly, people seem to have trouble finding their “forever kind” of love today. Is it because, as the song says, “They’re looking for love in all the wrong places” or is it because they don’t realize love isn’t a “my way or the highway” emotion?

You have to give love, wholly, no strings attached, to get love.

Love isn’t lust, yet so many people equate the one for the other. Good sex is an important part of a marriage, but despite what many think, it isn’t , AND SHOULD’T BE, the most important part. Life will interrupt and complicate matters–children, illness, age–all those things will throw up roadblocks, but love is more than that, and when you find love, real love, you’ll realize that.

Dr. Seuss, in How the Grinch Stole Christmas, shows how the Grinch learns about Christmas. Even after he\’s taken everything they had, the Whos still celebrate the day.

“Maybe Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store. Maybe Christmas… perhaps… means  a little bit more.” 

Love, like Christmas, means a little bit more.

Now, don’t forget to click on the sunflower and visit other L bloggers.


					
2 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge : L is for Love

Leave a Reply

