A to Z Challenge: K is for Kiss

a-to-z HEADER [2015] - aprilHello again. I’m very excited today. In exactly one week, my newest novel, The White Carnation, book 1 in The Harvester series will be released.It’s available for pre-sale now from most regular e-book sellers, and I’m waiting for reviews and hoping it sells well.You can drop by later and visit my website for more information. http://www.mhsusannematthews.ca/

Badage linkedToday begins the second full week of the A to Z Challenge, and so far, I haven’t missed a day. I love reading the comments I’ve been getting, too, so please keep them coming.

Day 11, K is for kiss. I’ve tried to mix up my posts with opinions and anecdotes, but today, I thought I’d talk about kissing. We all kiss. We kiss our children, our parents. good friends, occasionally strangers, and even pets. But not all kisses are created equal. The kisses we reserve for the opposite sex–our boyfriends, and later our husbands–come into a different category all together. A romantic kiss is something you feel not only with your mouth, but with your heart, and if you’re lucky, your soul.

I’ve been married to the same wonderful man for more than 43 years, but before I met my Prince Charming, I kissed a few frogs. Not everyone kisses well. Some guys gave you a bath in the process, rivaling the moKst loving dog kiss. Others were wooden.  Some swooped in so quickly you almost missed. Some were so soft, they were barely noticeable–butterfly kisses, and others had the power of a Sherman tank behind them. But when they got it right, man what a wonderful feeling.

As an author, you have to show not tell scenes to bring your readers into a scene. Some things are easy to show; others are a definite challenge. In Coming Home, Book 1 of the Taking a Chance on Love Series, co-written under the name Misty Matthews, I had to describe the perfect kiss, so that my reader could feel it. How did I do?

Coming Home coverThe soft brush of her lips surprised him, but like food offered to a starving man, he wasn’t going to refuse it. Connor groaned deep in his throat, entwined his fingers in her silky hair, and dragged her closer, pressing her body into his.

When she didn’t pull away, he deepened the kiss, giving free rein to the urgency within him. She moaned into his mouth fueling the fire burning through him. He shut his eyes blocking out everything but the sensation of her lips on his.

The taste of Alana was intoxicating and definitely the most wonderful thing he’d ever savored. He feasted on the flavor of his favorite coffee mixed with the tang that was hers alone, supped from the sweetness of her mouth, absorbing her very essence, and knew no other kiss had ever matched this one, and none probably ever would.

Her mouth was made for kissing—lush full lips, pulsing and throbbing with life beneath his—lips he suckled and sipped leaving them swollen and trembling, something he’d dreamed of doing from the second she’d sauntered into his store. He ran the tip of his tongue along them, and when she opened to him, he slipped into her mouth, intensifying the kiss, moving the encounter up a level and feeding from her sweetness.

You can also follow me on Tsu

Now, click on the sunflower above to visit more K bloggers.

2 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge: K is for Kiss

Leave a Reply

