A to Z Challenge: J is for Justice

a-to-z HEADER [2015] - aprilGood morning! It’s a wild and windy day, a blustery day as Pooh would say, but it’s more spring than winter, so I won’t complain.Badage linked This morning, for the letter J, I want to talk about justice.

According to the Free Dictionary, http://www.thefreedictionary.com/justice

Justice is

1.The quality of being just; fairness: In the interest of justice, we should treat everyone the same.
2.

a. The principle of moral rightness; decency.
b. Conformity to moral rightness in action or attitude; righteousness: argued for the justice of his cause.
JJ is for Justice
Okay. We know what it is, but, without getting preachy, can someone explain what  the heck has gone wrong with our interpretation of the meaning of the word?
Let’s start with the first meaning: fairness. As the example says, we should treat everyone the same–treat them the way we want to be treated–but that isn’t happening. People are being treated unfairly because of the color of their skin, their gender, their income level, their religion,or their sexual orientation.
What gives people the idea that their ‘holier than thou’attitude can make me a second class citizen, deprive me of my rights to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness, tell me where to go, what to wear, where to sit, etc.  because I’m a woman?
Let’s look at the second meaning: decency,moral rightness. How can it be morally right to kill unarmed, unsuspecting men, women, and children simply because you don’t like what they stand for? What they believe? How they live their lives? I’m not passing judgment on any side. I know, in war, lots of innocent people become collateral damage, but I’m talking about terrorist attacks like 9-11, the Spanish train bombings, the London subway bombings, the execution of the people at the Paris magazine.
How can it be right to hate a person because of the color of their skin? How can it be acceptable to any deity to murder people, denounce women and treat them like slaves, kidnap young girls and sell them into slavery?
Because I try to avoid being unjust, I do my best to treat everyone with respect, to try to understand that their beliefs are as valid as mine, but somewhere there has to be a place where we can say, whoa! I understand where you’re coming from, but you have to understand me as well.
Justice isn’t having your rights as an individual trampled by someone else demanding theirs. Justice is greater than that. It’s accepting the differences and going on with your life, allowing them to go on with theirs.
Don’t forget to click on the sunflower for more J blogs.
About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A to Z Challenge: J is for Justice

  1. Hello Handbag says:

    Such an important reminder, especially when you look at everything that’s going on in our world today.

    Stopping by from Pam’s Unconventional Alliance, best of luck in the Challenge!

  2. Paula Kaye says:

    Unfortunately none of this injustice is anything new. It has been going on since the beginning of time. I have been reading the Old Testament this year and am amazed (Maybe a little appalled) at the unjustness of the way our Lord treated people. Great subject to post about today!!

    Smidgen Snippets & Bits

  3. Petra says:

    Good post! Unfortunately, people will often cite that it is part of their right to dislike or hate something or someone. I think all we can do the ones that get this very matter of being respectful despite differences, we hope to make an impact on someone. It’s really all we can do.

  4. orneryswife says:

    I agree that justice has gone awry and people are too selfish to extend mercy to others. Would that we all take an active role in making sure we don’t trample other’s rights in pursuit of our own happiness.

  5. There’s nothing “right” about it. The problem stems from people wanting to force their values, views, needs, on others and resorting to any means to do so. I don’t have to agree with someone else’s views or life choices. I can even say they are wrong. But it’s not my right to force them to change. One’s freedoms end at the place where another’s freedoms begin.
    Visit me at: Life & Faith in Caneyhead
    I am Ensign B of Tremps’ Troops
    with the A to Z Challenge

Leave a Reply

