A to Z Challenge: C is for Coughing

a-to-z HEADER [2015] - aprilBadage linkedGood morning. If you have a sensitive stomach, you might want to skip this one today. On the other hand, if you know an asthmatic, maybe this will give you some insight.

Today’s comments are brought to you by the letter C, as in C is for Coughing.

CI have to wonder why each year I get so anxious for spring to arrive when I should know by now that most likely it will net me an allergy-induced asthma attack and, with that, will come the gut wrenching coughing spasms that leave me physically and emotionally exhausted. I sleep in fits and starts between bouts, and wake up only slightly less tired than when I went to bed, and thanks to the allergy medication, I walk around in a drug-induced fog.  My medication says I shouldn’t drive or operate machinery, but somehow my husband doesn’t understand that the washer and dryer as well as the stove are machines. So is the computer, but I think I’m safe here.

Back to the coughing. There are two kinds of coughs– the dry, hacking variety which generally accompany a cold, and the wet ones. Can you guess which one I have? No? Well, my  cough isn’t dry–oh no! it’s filled with phlegm and other goodies. I know I shouldn’t simply swallow it, but the idea of spitting that out anywhere in public is too humiliating to contemplate. And where would I spew it? The age of the spittoon is long gone. So, to ease my embarrassment, I avoid people and wait for the bout to end.

This year, it’s Easter season, and because I can’t predict the next round of “cough until you gag” I missed the Maundy Thursday service last night and I’ll miss the Good Friday one today. For some reason, the more you try not to cough, the more you cough! I’ll just say and prayer and hope that’s good enough; after all, God knows all, so He must be aware of my coughing. After all it probably keeps Him awake at night, too.

In this day and age when everyone worries about germ warfare and super bugs, it’s damn hard to go out in public, have a coughing spasm that ends with you almost ready to vomit, and smile and say “it’s only allergies” when you’ve practically coughed up a lung and deposited it at their feet.Someone suggested I wear a mask–don’t even get me started on that. Breathing is hard enough without having to filter the air, and masks do not solve the ultimate problem which is the coughing.

So, here I sit, hoping the meds will kick in soon, and the asthma will settle down. And for the record–that particular brand of allergy medication doesn’t work in 20 or 30 minutes. Oh joy! I’m serving Easter dinner this Sunday. Add stress to the mix, and this should be an Easter Dinner for the books.

Now, if you got this far, don’t forget to pop over and read some of the other C blogs.

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/p/a-to-z-challenge-sign-uplist-2015.html

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A to Z Challenge: C is for Coughing

  1. I had a respiratory infection one year which led to coughing fits like you describe for months. Nothing seemed to help and it was so frustrating to never know when a spasm would start and stop. Hang in there!

  2. Rosie Amber says:

    Hi Susanne, I’m enjoying stopping by everyone’s A to Z challenge and reading such diverse posts, Have given your blog a shout out from my letter “D “today https://rosieamber.wordpress.com/

  3. I still look forward to spring each year – allergies and all! Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

