A to Z, Day 2 Brought To You By The Letter B

a-to-z HEADER [2015] - aprilGood morning. Welcome to day 2 of the A to Z Challenge. Today, the letter of the day is the letter B. There are so many words that start with B, but I’m going to focus on a simple one–Bicycle. Badage linkedDo you remember getting your first bike? Was it a brand new shiny one, or a used bike someone revamped for you? A lot of kids start off with a hand-me-down bike, especially if they aren’t the oldest in the family. My daughter certainly did, and her fondest memory was the day she got her first new bike–a girl’s bike, since she’d been riding her older brothers’ ones for a couple of years.

My daughter has four children, ages almost 6-9. Yup, that close and no twins.The kids have never had new bikes before, but this Easter, Mom and Grandma, have purchased brand new shiny bikes, helmets, and bells for all of them, and I think Mom is more excited about it than anyone.

BBeing able to ride a bike, especially once the training wheels come off, is one of the rites of passage that has endured even into the age of video games and computers. It’s the first thing a child wants to do when the snow finally disappears. Riding a bike downhill for the first time is exhilarating, and we all remember the bumps, bruises, and scrapes we picked up along the way, but would any of us forego those memories? And who would even think to deny kids the opportunity to ride their bikes through the campgrounds on those week-long camping trips/

I can’t wait to see their faces on Easter when they look upon their shiny new bikes for the first time. New bikes, new helmets, new bells equal great fun.

Now drop in to see what others have to say about the letter B.

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/p/a-to-z-challenge-sign-uplist-2015.html

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A to Z, Day 2 Brought To You By The Letter B

  1. Bikes for 4 kids! What a great gift!!!
    I’m a life long bike rider – I don’t race or do strenuous long rides. I have a basket on my bike and I like to ride through the countryside.

    Claire
    http://aFieldTripLife.com

  2. A delightful post! I’m so excited for your Easter Sunday. I remember one Christmas, Santa brought all seven of us kids bikes. My poor dad must have been up all night long putting them together. We lived in south Texas. Four months before Christmas, Hurricane Beulah destroyed our home. We had to relocated into a old farm house miles away. But those bikes were a Godsend. We all rode for hours–a memory we all still talk about.

  3. LillianC says:

    How wonderful! If those lucky kids didn’t believe in the Easter Bunny before, they will now!

    • They still believe and that’s part of the magic, but these bikes will clearly be given as gifts from Mommy and Grandma and Grandpa. The Easter bunny brings chocolate–lots and lots of chocolate lol.

  4. Precious. I’m sure they’re going to be absolutely delighted. Beautiful post, Susanne.

Leave a Reply

