Nominated for a Liebster Award: WOW!

Liebster Award!

Liebster AwardI am touched and amazed to have received the Liebster (a German word in origin which means beloved, sweetheart, lover, darling) Award nomination! The Liebster Award, is an award given to new bloggers among the blogger community to get to know each other and highlight a newbie.

Gina Calanni Henning from Next Door Painting’s Blog nominated me for this award. I’m a reasonably new blogger featuring the work of fellow authors as well as my own. I like to participate in cover reveals and blog hops, and help out others in any way I can. On Sundays, I post Reviews by Sue, which are my opinions of books written by new authors like myself. On Wednesdays, I participate in a Mid-Week Tease, showcasing snippets from other authors as well as my own writing. In April, I’ll be part of the A to Z blog hop. Please make sure to come back and visit often. You never know who will be visiting and when there might be another giveaway.

Thanks to those of you who have been following me faithfully and to those who are new to Living the Dream. I hope you enjoy learning about me and my writer friends.

After receiving the award, I’ve been asked to answer a series of questions asked by my fellow blogger/nominator Gina:

What time of day do you blog?

I generally blog first thing in the morning before I start my work day. That way I can catch up on all the latest news and views, and if I’m posting a cover reveal or blog visit, the information gets out early in the day.

How often do you read other blogs?

I make a point of checking out all of the participants in the Mid-Week Tease on Wednesdays, and try to read at least another dozen a week.

Salty or sweet?

Salty. I love my potato chips.

IMG_0275Your favorite Blog entry (include link).

That’s a tough one, but I’ll go with last year’s Thanksgiving blog.

https://mhsusannematthews.wordpress.com/2014/10/10/thanksgiving-a-lot-to-be-grateful-for-this-year/

 What city would you love to get lost in?

Maybe not get “lost” in, but I’d love to visit Paris and see the Eiffel Tower, The Arch de Triomphe, and the cathedrals and cafes.  I’d like to take a cruise in a bateau-mouche on the Seine and visit Versailles. I can trace my family ancestry to Paris in the 1660’s so walking those streets would be a real thrill for me.

What do you find most interesting about blogs?

I find it interesting to read people’s opinions on a variety of topics as well as read snippets of their wip’s.

Last song you listened to.

Don’t Stop by Fleetwood Mac. I love the oldies.

Last book you read.

The Siren’s Realm by Megan O’Russell. I was given an ARC. The book is YA fantasy and very good. I’d recommend it to anyone.

Have you ever read something you wrote to a group?

Yes, but not recently. I used to write short stories written for children..

Do you like interviewing people?

That’s a two-edged sword. Some people like being interviewed. Others don’t. If the person enjoys answering personal questions it’s a lot more interesting than if they just want to talk about their career or occupation.

Share an exciting experience

I really lead a pretty boring life. I think the most exciting thing I’ve ever done was taking my first overseas flight to Europe to visit my son. We left Toronto in the evening on a direct flight to Finland. We arrived in Helsinki mid-morning their time, and when we left the plane, we followed the passengers into the terminal. There were two doors. One was marked, in English “Something to declare,” the other said “Nothing to declare.” Everyone was going through the nothing door. We had to hunt around the airport to find someone to stamp our passports.

Eventually, we found a cab who took us to the harbor and we spent the day looking around the area. It was incredibly beautiful. At suppertime, we boarded a cruise ship that crossed the Baltic Sea and took us into Stockholm. It was amazing. It didn’t get dark until almost midnight, and the sun was up, and us, by 4.  Coming into Stockholm that way was a real experience, made even more unusual for us because, once again, there wasn’t a custom’s officer to be seen. Such an usual thing when you consider the cross examination we got from our customs when we came home. Live and learn!

Here are my nominees:

  1. The Silent Pen http://vickiannbush.blogspot.ca/
  2. Danielle Doolittle http://danielledoolittle.weebly.com/blog

 Here are the questions they’ll answer. 

  1. How often do you blog?
  2. What’s your favorite kind of post?
  1. Where do you get the inspiration for your blog posts?
  1. Beer, wine, or mixed drinks?
  2. What is your ideal vacation getaway?
  3. If you had a thousand dollars to spend on anything you wanted, what would you buy?
  4. What’s your favorite dessert?
  5. Name and rate the last movie you watched.
  6. If you could sit down and interview someone, who would you choose?
  7. City or countryside?
  8. What was the most romantic gift anyone ever gave you?

I look forward to reading their answers!

One thought on “Nominated for a Liebster Award: WOW!

Leave a Reply

