The Week That Was: From Damaged Bumpers to New Contracts and New Releases

images“Holy guacamole, Batman,” to quote Robin, Burt Ward, from the 1966-68 television series, Batman, what a week I’ve had.

It started out simply enough. Sunday, we slept in and missed church. Oops! On Monday, we had a snowstorm, but went to bottle wine anyway. A girl’s got to do what a girl’s got to do! We also went to buy a new Blu-Ray player because my husband “fixed” the other one. Truth be told, it hadn’t been working well, but when it ate our new Blu-Ray, he really wasn’t happy. Long story short, player went to the garbage, and we bought a new one.

Tuesday, I took my mom and dad for blood work and then had to take my dad to have his heart monitor battery changed. I was backing out when, BAM! I hit a car. bumperI had checked and was checking, and was barely moving, but he was in my blind spot and I missed him. No damage to his car at all, but given it was -35 out, the plastic bumper on my dad’s car will have to be replaced. So, how did I hit him? Buddy boy had passed me, so I thought I was in the clear and started to back out. He decided to take a parking space someone else was vacating and backed up. I got him on the back wheel of his car. He didn’t see me backing out. Doesn’t matter who’s at fault. In a parking lot, where there are no personal injuries involved, everyone’s on his or her own. My parents weren’t upset, but I was. So, I was down in the dumps all day.

That evening around supper time, I checked my email and found a message from my publisher Crimson Romance. download I put off opening it because I really wasn’t in the mood for bad news. Eventually, my curiosity got the better of me, and I opened the email. My jaw dropped open. Not only did Tara want the new book, she wanted the other two in the series as well. What a way to go from the outhouse to the penthouse. I was on cloud nine. I immediately called my parents with the news. They were happy since they knew how badly I’d felt.

So, I have three books coming out this year with Crimson. The books entitled The White Carnation, The White Lily, and The White Iris are part of a trilogy revolving around an anarchist cult and its sociopath leader with delusions of godhood. Since the books are romances, the first story is a second chance at love for reporter Faye Lewis and Detective Rob Halliday when they discover that the Harvester, a man who kills new mothers and disappears with the infants, has Faye in his sights. Think Castle and Bones meet Criminal Minds with a touch of Law and Order SVU tossed in!  

So,Wednesday, I signed the contract and got to work on something I’m finishing up. Thursday, I spent the day in Landlord Tenant Court with a friend who was called to testify. Talk about getting a lot of first hand research for a book that day.

Food of LoveYesterday, I got the first round of edits, the content ones, from my editor and her changes will be easy to make. I can see for myself how they’ll improve the book.

As well, yesterday was the release date for my newest story, A 5K short story called There’s Always Tomorrow written for a Solstice Anthology called, The Food of Love. This was my first attempt at something like this. Each story revolves around a meal, and each of the 10 authors provided a recipe from the story. I’ve got spiced pumpkin soup. Since I set the story in Ontario, Canada, I wanted something that would reflect our national character. As I wrote the story around Christmas. that fit. The Food of Love is available from Amazon

So, here we are on Saturday, the last day of the week and I’m still smiling. Wow! What a Week!

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

