Reviews by Sue: Elected, by Rori Shay

I’m starting something new this year. Each Sunday, I intend to post a review of a recently, and not so recently written novel which I’ve had the pleasure to read. The first book in my Reviews by Sue Series is Elected by Rori Shay. A copy of the book was provided by the author for an honest review.

Elected 5 stars

Elected-cover-webWithout a doubt, I loved the book. When I first started reading it, I almost closed it on page 1. Why? Because I don’t usually enjoy books written in the first person, but since I consider Rori a friend as well as a colleague, I continued to read, and am I ever glad I did. Rori has an amazing skill as a storyteller. Her descriptions are vid and thorough allowing the reader to easily envision every aspect of the story–whether it’s the charred remnants of the house or a multilayered wedding gown. The language is easy to follow, the use of literary devices correct and enhancing to the text, and the plotline well written and easy to follow. There are plot twists and turns aplenty and of course  romance, although the romance is not in the forefront of Book 1. Since I don’t read a lot of

Elected takes place in a postapocalyptic world, not the kind of world I’d wish on my great, great grandchildren since it’s a world which limits a woman’s role in life to being a baby machine. I suppose if you consider the circumstances, it’s understandable. At one point, I wondered if I were going to see glimpses of a society similar to the one in The Handmaid’s Tale, by Margaret Atwood, but while this world shares some of Atwood’s problems, things had not descended to that level.

East Country, like the rest of Rori’s world exists under the guidance of Accords, treaties signed by all the living humans on what remains of Earth. The Fertility Accord ensures all women think of nothing but getting pregnant and having children since the population is so low. The Technology Accord bans the use of any and all technology lest the world be plunged back into the time when Greenhouse gases created the mess and led to the nuclear war in the first place. The Ship Accord prevents travel from country to country, isolating each population since it forbids construction of any kind of craft. Finally, the Elected Accord guarantees peace and stability. One family rules for 100 years, the eldest son taking office on his 18th birthday.

Aloy is the next Elected, groomed and taught to be the leader the people of East Country. Vienne will become Madame Elected, the consort who’ll provide the children to continue the line. There’s only one small problem: Aloy is a girl, and no one must ever discover the truth.

So, have I tempted your taste buds? Once I started the book, I couldn’t put it down. I look forward to reading Suspected, Book 2, in the Elected Series.

You can pick up a copy of Elected from your favorite online retailer including Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

