Welcome to the Stuff Your Kindle Blog Hop: A Love That Endures

10805635_10204525493996162_6277631994961060666_nGood morning. I hope you had a great day yesterday. As always, there was a little too much food, and of course I “forced” myself to eat more than I should have. So much for the three pounds I lost before Christmas–they’re back and I think they multiplied!

If you’re Canadian, you know today is Boxing Day, the day for mad shopping only slightly less insane than Black Friday. As a child, I used to think Boxing Day meant the day you took all the things that didn’t fit or didn’t work back to Santa’s workshop to get fixed or resized. As a teenager, I realized it meant I could get twice the bang for my Christmas money since everything that had been full-priced on Christmas Eve was now 50% off or more. In truth, the custom comes form the days when after Christmas, you boxed up what you no longer needed, having received new ones, and donated the items to the less fortunate. For many people, they now do both–older toys replaced by new ones and clothing will get donated to those in need and the stores will still make money as people rush off to redeem gift certificates and spend holiday cash.

imagesIn my family, Boxing Day had another meaning. It was my mother and father’s wedding anniversary. Mom and Dad were married December 26, 1949. That’s right. They’ve been married 65 years today. Each year, Dad manages to give Mom a dozen yellow roses, her favorites.

Dad worked at the papermill and Mom was a clerk in a store. Money was tight and they spent the first few months of wedded bliss living in the family home. Eventually, they rented a small house and the following summer I was born. They didn’t have a lot by the standards we set today–no car, no fancy toys, no southern holidays, but ours was a happy home. Sure Mom and Dad argued as any married couple does, but those aren’t the memories I carry in my heart.

Mom and dadTheir marriage was and continues to be, a partnership. We didn’t live extravagantly, but we always had what we needed. Life hasn’t been easy for them. They’re both cancer survivors and have dealt with hart problems. Now in their late eighties, they continue to live in their own home, looking after one another. They’ve been fortunate to grow old together, caring for one another, loving one another through good times and bad. They’re proud of their two daughters, five grandchildren and nine great-grandchildren. They are the reason I believe in soul mates and true love. They continue to demonstrate that true love endures.

That’s the reason I write–to share my belief in the magic of love. If you’re looking for something to add to your Kindle this season, consider adding something of mine. I credit my father’s storytelling for my imagination. Check out my Website where you’ll find all of my books. Comment on this post for a chance to pick up the ebook of your choice.  Now, why not visit one of the other fabulous authors and check out what they have to offer?

Stuff Your Kindle Blog Hop

Hope the rest of your holidays are great!

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

