Hump Day Hook

humpdayhookWelcome to December 10th Hump Day Hook. With Christmas right around the corner, I think I’ll stick with my Christmas books.  Holiday Magic is a story of misunderstanding and seeing with the eyes not the heart. We are all guilty of judging by appearances, but the eyes are deceiving. Ask a police officer who interviews witnesses to a crime. He’ll tell you that they get conflicting reports all the time.

Holiday Magic in the first of my Christmas books and is a reunion story.

Seeing is believing, or is it?

Georgia Baxter loved everything about Christmas until she walked in on her fiancé in bed with another woman. Wounded and heart sore, she canceled her Christmas Eve fantasy wedding and fled to New York City, leaving everything and everyone, including her twin sister, Eleni, behind.

Three years later, still hurting but knowing it’s time to move on, she agrees to come home to help her sister, despite the fact she’ll be doing so at a time of year she now associates only with pain and betrayal. Discovering she’ll have to work closely with the man who shattered her dreams only makes things harder, especially when her body craves his touch.

Mark Anderson has no memory of his bachelor party other than waking up naked in the wrong woman’s bed. He clings to the hope someday he can convince Georgia to give him a second chance, but until she’s ready to listen, it won’t happen. Discovering she’s coming home to manage Holiday Magic for three months may be his lucky break.

Is there enough magic left in Christmas to help them overcome the past?

Amazon.com

Holiday Magic (2) Here’s your hook:

Georgia shook her head. “Forget it, Len. As Grandma used to say, ‘Whitewashing the pump won’t make the water clean.’ If you’d told me about all this, I’d never have agreed to help you out. I’m sure that’s why you’re springing this crap on me now. You knew I wouldn’t come if you’d been honest about it. I find it hard to believe you forgot to mention this. Seriously, you expect me to be his date for the night? That night of all nights? I’m sorry, but you’re out of your cotton-picking mind!” Her voice rose, attracting the attention of some of the diners, and she lowered it.

Eleni’s lower lip trembled, and Georgia knew the waterworks were next. It wasn’t fair. Her sister could read her like a book—a first grade primer, at that.

“Eleni Jean Baxter, don’t you dare cry,” she whispered through gritted teeth. Maybe it’s good I’m angry. At least when I’m angry I’m not feeling sorry for myself.

“Nobody gives you more trouble than you do yourself. You just don’t think things through. You’ve created this mess, and you really didn’t think about the way it would affect others. You have to stop jumping in with both feet before you test the water. One of these days, you’re going to get hurt.” She shook her head.

“I said I was sorry,” Eleni said mutinously, lower lip trembling, and tears brimming her emerald eyes.

“Leni, sometimes I’m sorry doesn’t cut it. This will be hard for Mark—well, maybe not hard, but uncomfortable at best.”

Why not pop over to our dedicated Hump Day Hook blog and see what else we have to offer? You can find us on Facebook too. 

14 thoughts on “Hump Day Hook

  1. It sounds like it will be a good story. Just how or will these two reconcile?? I love Christmas love stories and second chance stories.

Leave a Reply

