Look Who Dropped By Today: Paula Rose

revenge banner

Good morning, my lovelies. Today I’d like to welcome another Anaiah Press author to Living the Dream. Paula’s on a blog tour, and I’m pleased she chose to drop by here for a visit. Let’s begin by meeting Paula.

PaulaRoseAuthor Bio: I love the hat, by the way. 

Paula Rose provides inspiration through Christian romantic suspense stories where “average” families come into extraordinary situations, brushed with life-size strokes of reality and a touch of humor. Born in Philadelphia, she lives in Southern New Jersey with her husband and rescue kitty but often plays amateur photographer in both states.

Tell me a bit about your writing process. 

My name is Paula Rose, and I’m here to discuss why my writing process is a mess!

I must admit that you’ll find photo’s, research notes, and books sitting atop an old scarred desk.  However, where I write is usually not at the desk. Find the credenza and you’ll find the author.

Meanwhile, I’m not always a plotter, and in fact, I’m often a panster.  Sometimes, I know the characters but not the plot, but there are times the plot is so clear but no characters have stepped into the roles.  Sometimes, I’ll outline, but most times, I won’t bother. Why?  My muse doesn’t always stick to the outline. It figures, even my muse has a mind of its own. The only thing I insist on that I write every night and the muse accepts this concession, thankfully.

I’ve learned I can’t fight it to go where I want it to go because the writing will look forced and be dull.

Each story comes in a different form, and I’ve been taught to let it happen just that way.  Who taught me this? The muse, of course. I’ve had pages of text stolen out from my fingers as I intended to write one scene but something else appeared.

This happened inside Revenge. Olivia was supposed to be more of a damsel in distress, but she came out as a strong character who could have easily adapted to a police force.  The detective was supposed to be an Alpha male, but he changed his mind and became a brooding character who wanted to fall in love while solving the crime.  Henceforth, his constant questioning of the career makes him seem pensive and at times brooding.  Even my villain decided to steer the plot to a more sinister version of himself then I thought of originally.  In the end, it all works out but still the muse rules me. Here I was, moving on, but the muse is busy plotting madness for the secondary characters of Revenge.

Even my story is never really my own.

Thanks, Paula. You can follow Paula on her social media.

Author Links:

Website: http://paularosebooks.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PaulaRoseauthor

Goodreads Paula Rose:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8392724.Paula_Rose

Goodreads Revenge: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22735988-revenge

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Paula-Rose-Books/1514088292150972

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/paularoseauthor/

Anaiah Press: http://anaiahpress.com/PRose.html

Bookfun.org profile: http://www.bookfun.org/profile/PaulaRose

Website: http://about.me/paularoseauthor

Now, Let’s have a look at her new novel, Revenge, due out December 16, 2014.

Revenge cover 1600x2400About Revenge:

As a job coach, it’s up to Olivia Foster to ensure her clients work in a safe environment, understand their positions, and serve their employer’s mission. The death of her brother drives her career choice, and she loves her job. It remains her only focus until one of her autistic clients goes missing. Then Olivia’s employer ends her position and adds her to the suspect list, but she makes plans to bring the missing young man home.

Meanwhile, Detective Lt. Phillip Landon is deep into second-guessing his career choice, but his well-honed instincts see major flaws inside this missing person’s case. Surprising contacts, mysterious happenings, and threats can turn deadly. Can he keep Olivia safe, protect his heart, remove the job coach from someone’s target list, and adopt a faith he never knew all while adjusting to the new lives of his old family?

For US residents only, check out your chance to win one of five posters.

Thanks for dropping by.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Look Who Dropped By Today: Paula Rose

  1. I thank you for visiting with me your blog, Susanne!

  2. Kiru Taye says:

    We’re so similar in terms of writing process, Paula. Nice to meet you.

Leave a Reply

