Hump Day Hook: A Little Bit of Christmas

humpdayhookWelcome to another Wednesday and a chance to sneak a peek at what some of my author friends are writing. This morning, I’d like to offer my spot in the Hump Day Hook to the lovely and talented Christy Newton.

Christy has released several books, including her latest one, A Little Bit Of Christmas. I was fortunate enough to read a copy of this book yesterday. As she has done in a couple of her other books, Christy tugs at your heart strings with her realistic characters who undergo terrible losses and rise above them. This short novel is the ideal quick Christmas read when you need a break from the hustle and bustle of holiday activities.

Here’s a hook from A Little Bit of Christmas

“Oh honey! I’m glad I found you. I’m calling to ask if you have plans for Christmas.”
She bit her lip and looked down at the flour smudged floor. “Just going to rent a few sappy movies and stay home.”
“It would mean the world to me if you could come spend the holiday with us. We have plenty of room and well, quite frankly, it’s time we had a proper Christmas again. Nichole would have wanted it.”
She swallowed the lump in her throat. “I… I don’t know.”
“Please, I really need you.” Mellie sighed into the phone. “Nick needs you. I’m afraid if we don’t get him to start celebrating the season and showing emotion again, he may never recover from his grief.”
“He still won’t celebrate Christmas?” Her heart ached for her friend. Losing his twin sister had been hard on the whole town, but Nick had taken it the hardest.

Check out the other Hump Day Hooks at the Hump Day Hook Blog

See you next week!

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hump Day Hook: A Little Bit of Christmas

  1. Toya says:

    Great hook and just right for this time of year. Poor Nick, hope he finds happiness

  2. That sounds like a really sad way to spend Christmas. I hope she goes to see them and cheer up Nick too.

Leave a Reply

