Hump Day Hook: Coming Home

humpdayhookWelcome to the middle of the work week. This is my first time participating in the Hump Day Hook, and I thank those who invited me to share my writing with you. Misty Matthews is the name under which two Canadian authors co-write contemporary romance novels. Last spring we released our first novella, Grand Slam, with SCP. On October 15, we released Coming Home, a Christmas story based on our heroine reluctance to return to the small town where she was raised and face the ghosts of her unhappy teen years. The last thing she expects is to meet the man of her dreams and fall in love. Coming Home is the first of four books in the Taking a Chance on Love series, set in the small town of Chance, Arizona.

Without further ado, here’s the opening lines from Coming Home:

Coming Home cover“It’s not too late. I can still turn around,” Alana Stewart grumbled when the sign announcing Chance, Arizona came into view. Thoughts of calling off this trip home to see her family plagued her, and she slowed her hot pink and black Ninja 300 ABS motorcycle, an early Christmas present to herself. This was her new toy’s first major road trip and a big reason why she’d made it this far. The joys of the open road stopped her from dwelling on her cases and the disquiet she felt returning to the town that only held bad memories for her.

Just because I said I’d be here doesn’t mean I can’t change my mind. Maybe I should take another day…

The Bluetooth in her ear sent out the notes of the funeral dirge she associated with her co-litigator on the Mooney case, interrupting her chicken shit thoughts and the sound of Florida Georgia Line. Damn, what does he want now? She loved the glamor and excitement she received as a corporate lawyer specializing in litigation, but as a member of the firm’s bullpen, she didn’t choose her partners, the upper echelon did. Working with Mark Dilby was frustrating to the nth degree. There was no way in hell she could handle one of his calls and keep her mind on the road. Sighing heavily, she signaled a right turn.

Thank you for visiting. Please go to the Hump Day Hook hub for more great snippets, and have a wonderful day!

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hump Day Hook: Coming Home

  1. Toya says:

    Your writing style is great, leaves a reader wanting more! Love it 😀

  2. I really liked this.. Great HDH

  3. Wow, she has so much to deal with all at once, I like how you linked it all together.

  4. I want to know the bitter memories Alana associates with her hometown. I love the teaser.

    Congrats on the release of Coming Home.

Leave a Reply

