Thanksgiving: A Lot To Be Grateful For This Year

IMG_0275Well, today is Friday, and the start of the 2014 Thanksgiving weekend in Canada–Columbus Day for my American friends. I know you celebrate Thanksgiving late in November, a prelude to Christmas and shopping madness, but for us up here in the Great White North, it comes  amidst all of nature’s glory and bounty. This image is of a wall hanging from Upper Canada Village and made of plants, seeds, and flowers. Isn’t it gorgeous?

This year, I have a lot for which to be grateful. I’m still on the right side of the grass, as they say, feeling better than ever. My mom and dad are doing well considering they’re both in their mid-eighties. My children are currently happy, enjoying success in their lives and occupations, and my husband is looking forward to curling season. God’s been good to us.

When I decided to become a writer, I knew I wouldn’t be making the New York Bestseller list, but I think I’ve done well for myself. This year, thanks to marketing from Crimson Romance, my publisher, Fire Angel has sold over one thousand copies. It’s a far cry from the millions of copies of Fifty Shades sold, but it’s a beginning.

As I take time to sit back and reflect on the events in my life this year, I realize the disappointments have been countered by positive change, some that saw me kicking and screaming to avoid, but in the end, everything seems to have unfolded as it should. While I lost two publishers because of their less than honest business practices, I’ve gained three I can count on and kept the two I had who’ve worked well for me. I’ve revised and republished the books that I had to remove from publication, and I sold others who might have died in limbo. My writing partnership with Misty continues to flourish, and we’re committed to three more books in our Taking a Chance on Love Series. How great is that?

One of the highlights of my year was going to Toledo and meeting two of my fellow authors. It was so great to actually put a face to them and talk to them in person rather than in an online chat. I hope someday to meet all of those who’ve become part of my life that way.

If Thanksgiving is my year end, then, as I close the door on this year, I can look forward to the next. I have two books almost ready to send to publishers and four books to be released between now and May, 2015. In November, I start NaNoWriMo with the Entangled Smackdown again–this time writing another contemporary romance since Just For The Weekend and Grand Slam have done well for me. And then, it’ll be Christmas with all the bells and whistles associated with it.

There are so many adventures out there waiting for me in 2015. In June, I’ll be taking the Alaskan cruise–watch for a book set there. I’ll be camping again in July, hoping for a better summer than we had, and who knows where else life will take me.

Happy Thanksgiving to all my friends. May God be as good to you as He’s been to me.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving: A Lot To Be Grateful For This Year

  1. Pingback: Nominated for a Liebster Award: WOW! | susanne matthews

Leave a Reply

