It’s Time for the Fall Into Books Blog Hop!

crfallbadge1As much as I hate to admit it, it’s that time of year again. While I’m not thrilled Autumn has arrived since I’m still looking for summer, I can appreciate the beauty and majesty of the season. It’s an honor to be part of another Candlelight Reads blog hop. Please comment on this post for your chance to win an e copy of Fire Angel, In Plain Sight, or On His Watch. Don’t forget to leave your contact information. If I can’t find you, I can’t send you your prize.

This year’s theme is multifaceted.

Books!  That’s the sole reason we’re here!  We all have that special place we love to read at or a special book that we go back to time and time again.  What’s your favorite place to read, and what is that special book you want to fall into again and again? 
I thought long and hard about this. I could say that as a teacher, I’ve read the same books each year for over 30 years. Classic’s like Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights, Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird, F. Scott Fitzgerald The Great Gatsby,  John Steinbeck’s Of Mice and Men just to name a few, but I think that would be cheating.
Before I started my writing career, I read at least four novels a week–and that was working full time. I read to relax, to escape the drudgery of every day–and I read just about anything I could get my hands on, except horror. While I not only read and taught Bram Stoker’s Dracula, Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, Edgar Allen Poe’s short stories, and Washington Irving’s The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, I have no inclination or desire to read so called modern horror and books of demonic possession. It’s a personal choice.
My favorite place to read is in the car while my husband is driving. We take frequent trips along Highway 401, and the scenery is one I’ve memorized. Give me a good book to read to pass the time. At home, I read in bed, on the couch, pretty much anywhere. Paper? Kindle? Kobo? I use them all. Today, my reading choices tend to be books written by fellow authors, but every now and then, I’ll grab an old favorite.
rebeccaThe book that turned me on to romantic suspense is Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier.
Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again… I came upon it suddenly; the approach masked by the unnatural growth of a vast shrub that spread in all directions… There was Manderley, our Manderley, secretive and silent as it had always been, the gray stone shining in the moonlight of my dream, the mullioned windows reflecting the green lawns and terrace. Time could not wreck the perfect symmetry of those walls, nor the site itself, a jewel in the hollow of a hand.
Those are the opening lines of a book that grabbed me and held me enthralled as a teen and can still do it today. It’s a classic Gothic romance, with twists and turns in the plot. The insecure heroine, a nobody who marries up, isn’t much of a seller among today’s readers, but I can empathize and sympathize with her all the way. While I don’t write in the first person and don’t generally enjoy books written that way, there was and is something about Rebecca that called to my soul.  I’ve read other novels by this author, but none touched me as deeply as Rebecca did,
So, that’s it. Now, please visit these lovely authors to read about their favorite books. Blog Hop
Don’t forget to comment here for your chance to win!
Fire AngelIn Plain Sight coverOn His Watch
9 thoughts on “It’s Time for the Fall Into Books Blog Hop!

  1. I love reading anywhere but my favorite place is in bed. My favorite book that I haven’t gotten tired of reading again and again is Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon.

    jmesparza821 at gmail dot com

  2. I love curling up in my ‘reading nook’ to read. I have an armchair & ottoman, in a cozy corner with my bookcases. I love reading romance!

    brookeb811 at gmail dot com

  3. I like to read in my living room on the couch with my fur babies or I often read in the kitchen at the table. My favorite book I fall into again and again is my childhood favorite The Pigman by Paul Zindel. Thank you isisthe12th@gmail.com

  4. I read every where my favorite place well one of is on a comfy lounger with a blanket and a cup of tea and the book Ihave read more then 100 times is after the night By Linda Howard its my go to comfort book

    ty for the chance

    mortalsinn(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  5. I just love to read and can read just about anywhere! Even in the truck going down the road (as long as I am the passenger!) I have read and reviewed over 270 books already this year. I don’t let a single day go by that I don’t at least read a couple chapters.
    Redrabbitt@aol.com

  6. Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clarity on your post is just excellent and that i
    could assume you’re a professional on this subject. Fine along with your permission allow me to clutch
    your RSS feed to keep up to date with impending post.
    Thanks one million and please carry on the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

