It’s Writing Style Time Again

The lovely Melinda De Ross invited me to join her in the quick blog hop. Please go to Melinda’s blog to learn more about her and her writing style.  I’m not able to send you to other writers to answer the same question since I’m actually away from home and my computer. Instead. at the end of the post, I’ll introduce you to some writing friends. We post teasers every Wednesday. Feel free to drop by and enjoy our snippets. 

  1. What am I working on now?

At the moment, I am completing first round edits for my May 2015 release from Anaiah Press. The book is called All About Love.

Here’s the blurb:

You can’t escape your past.

Former Olympic skier, Olivia Cummings gave up the sport she loved after an avalanche claimed the lives of her fiancé, Erik and her cousin Tamara. Now, blaming herself and having lost faith, she’s determined to stay off the slopes and away from men and relationships. She has a new career working as a bodyguard for Marshall Security.

Olivia longs for an assignment that doesn’t involve babysitting spoiled brats and is less than thrilled to discover the two people she needs to protect from a madman threatening their lives are a fifteen-year-old skier and her father. The case goes from bad to worse when she realizes not only will she have to face the slopes again as a ski coach this time, she’ll also have to do it as Greg Stuart’s new bride—the only way to provide an acceptable cover for the man who won’t leave his daughter’s side. Skiing, teenagers and a one-on-one relationship–can things get any worse? They can when her prospective husband turns out to be her favorite author.

Greg is ready to do anything to earn the love and respect of his estranged daughter, a girl who barely knows him, thanks to a bad decision he made in his youth. As bestselling author, George Stanton, his well-publicized face puts them both in danger, but in disguise as Olivia Marshall’s new husband, no one, not even his daughter, suspects the truth. When his in-name-only bodyguard bride turns out to be the feisty redhead with a quick temper to match his, things get complicated. Whatever happens over the next few weeks promises to be anything but dull.

Can Olivia and Greg put their mutual distrust and guilt aside to protect his daughter? More importantly, can love bloom within the killer’s sights?

I have a new book released just yesterday called On His Watch. Look for it on Amazon. Check out my teaser by going to Living The dream on the list below. On His Watch

 

  1. How does my work differ from others in this genre?

This is my first attempt at Christian Romance, so if differs from my previous work in the way the characters interact and in the faith component it contains. All of my books have some moral aspects to them, but this one more so than the others.

 

  1. Why do you write what you do?

I write the stories that come to me. Most of my work involves romance suspense. All for Love is romance suspense as well. Even my historical romances contain an element of suspense and mystery. Projects waiting on the sidelines include a paranormal zombie NA, a mystery YA, a children’s book, and a contemporary novel for the series I co-author as Misty Matthews.

 

  1. How does my writing process work?

I’m a pantser. I have a basic idea—maybe the name of a character or a title and I just start to write. First a sentence, then a paragraph and soon I have a page. I’ll go back over that page and expand it into a chapter. I’ll go back and edit and add to the story as I go along, always starting any new writing by going over the last couple of chapters first to place myself in the story. I don’t find images of characters online. I prefer to see them in my head, and that can be a problem for covers. I don’t write character sketches, preferring to allow the character to grow as the plot comes to me. I don’t have a plot outline, just an idea. Sometimes, I’ll write a synopsis of my idea, but the book rarely turns out the way I thought it would. Each book is a unique adventure for me and my readers.

 

While I can’t link you to other authors who’ll answer your questions, I’ll link you to my Mid-Week Tease group. You’ll see they’re all unique and different in their own way.

14.
 
 
 
 
 

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

