Look Who Dropped By Today: Gail Pallotta

Today, I’d like to welcome another author friend, Gail Pallotta who’s here to discuss her YA  novel, Stopped Cold.  Hi Gail. Great to have you with me.

Thanks so much to Susanne for having me today. My book’s for teens, the teens in your life and teens at heart. It’s an inspirational mystery with a first-love romance.

PrintStopped Cold is set in a small town in the North Carolina mountains in the U.S. But Things aren’t what they seem in peaceful Mistville, North Carolina. Margaret McWhorter enjoys a laid-back Freshman year in high school flirting with Jimmy Willmore, swimming and hanging out with friends—until that day. Her brother, Sean, suffers a stroke from taking a steroid. Now he’s lying unconscious in a hospital. Margaret’s angry at her dad for pushing Sean to be a great quarterback, but a fire of hatred burns inside her to make the criminals pay.

Looking for justice, she takes Jimmy and her best friend, Emily, through a twisted, drug-filled sub-culture. A clue sends them deep into the woods behind the school where they overhear drug dealers discuss Sean.

Time and time again they walk a treacherous path and come face to face with danger. Even the cop on the case can’t stop them from investigating. All the while Margaret really wants to cure Sean, heal the hate inside, and open her heart to love.

An excerpt from Stopped Cold

My pulse pounded in my ears as Jimmy walked toward Emily and me. My mind went blank for fear he could see right through me with those piercing blue eyes

of his, even to my innermost thoughts, including how cute I thought he was. I nearly dropped my hamburger, but managed to hold it in mid-air while I looked down at the butcher-block table.

“Hi Margaret, I’m really sorry about Sean. I’m keeping him in my prayers.”

Excitement raced through my body as words failed me. Dare I look into his eyes? I focused on his lips. “Thanks.”

“Hi Jimmy, have a seat.” Emily sounded casual and friendly.

He sat beside me.

My heart thumped so hard I worried he heard it as he put his arm around the back of the seat and touched my shoulders.

“How’d your classes go today? I wanted to talk to you after English, but you got out before I had a chance.”

Thank goodness. Seeing him here was less stressful. I fidgeted with my paper cup then sat it down and tore tiny pieces off the napkin in my lap. “It wasn’t bad. Everyone was so good to me.”

“Well, they better be.” Jimmy’s voice sounded protective.

My heart melted. I let my eyes meet his. They looked caring and sincere like those of a friend. I stopped tearing up the leftover napkin. “So–what happened while I was gone?” I tried to sound laid-back.

“In class, the usual, homework, tests, same old stuff.” Jimmy shifted in his seat and moved his arm.

Had something unusual happened outside of class? Did he know anything about Winstrol V? That would be strange because Mike said he didn’t, and he played football. I wanted information so bad. “What about sports?”

Jimmy leaned back and wrinkled his brow. “Funny you would ask I’ve heard some athletes are taking steroids.”

I stopped breathing.

Emily’s eyes grew wide as she leaned across the table. “Really?”

Jimmy raised his blond eyebrows. “Yeah, a couple guys mentioned it after we played soccer.”

I took in air. My insides raced as if someone turned my nerves on high, but I had to stay calm. I needed answers. I didn’t know Jimmy played soccer. “Are the soccer players taking them?”

“You’re awfully interested. Do you two want to buff up?”

I gagged and couldn’t speak.

Emily gasped. “No. Of course not. We’re just curious, that’s all.”

Jimmy shrugged his shoulders. “I have no idea. I overheard the conversation, but I didn’t join it.”

I ripped the rest of the napkin into tiny bits. “Well think. Exactly what did you hear?”

 

More about Stopped Cold:

Stopped Cold finished fourth in the 16th Annual Preditors and Editors Readers’ Poll last year. Comments included the following:

“Very compelling with emotions and feelings that have been felt by everyone in their lives at one time or another…”

“One of the best books recently published dealing with self-esteem, drugs and the drive to be #1 at any cost. A must read for the young athlete and the family.”

“This is an exceptional work and tells the truth of today.”

“Great story framed in a timeless, heartfelt message.”

Stopped Cold is available Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KK5C0NK

Smashwords

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/441547

Rebecca J. Vickery Publishing Book Store

http://rebeccajvickery.com/book-a-store.php

and Barnes & Noble

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Stopped-Cold-by-gail-pallotta?store=book&keyword=Stopped+Cold+by+gail+pallotta

GailPallottaHeadshotAbout the Author:

Award-winning author Gail Pallotta’s a wife, Mom, swimmer and bargain shopper who loves God, beach sunsets and getting together with friends and family. She’s been a Sunday school teacher, a swim-team coordinator and an after-school literary instructor. A former regional writer of the year for American Christian Writers Association, she won Clash of the Titles in 2010. Her teen book, Stopped Cold, was a best-seller on All Romance eBooks, finished fourth in the Preditors and Editors readers poll, was and a finalist for the 2013 Grace Awards. She’s published short stories in “Splickety” magazine and Sweet Freedom with a Slice of Peach Cobbler. Some of her published articles appear in anthologies while two are in museums.

She’s on the web at http://www.gailpallotta.com  on Authors and More on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/authorsandmore  and twitter, Gail Pallotta @Hopefulwords. Her blog is http://www.gailpallotta.blogspot.com and she’s on the staff of Clash of the Titles at http://www.clashofthetitles.blogspot.com

Thanks for being here, Gail. Good luck with your books.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

