Look Who Dropped By Today: Nancy Weeks

Good morning. Today’s another messed up summer day with winds, thunderstorms, and sun! I’m so glad not to be camping still. 

My guest this morning is  fellow Crimson author Nancy Weeks here to talk about her latest release, the fourth installment of her In the Shadow series, In The Shadow Of Pride, and she’s got a give-away for you, too. Check the end of the blog for your chance to win.  

9781440580321

Hi Susanne!

  I’m so thrilled to be here today. Thank you for inviting me. Please feel free to ask me anything.

Tell everyone about yourself.

I always choke-up when I’m asked this question. Sometimes, I think who I am changes daily or I’m a book still being written.  I have been happily married for over thirty-two years and a mother for twenty-six years.  I decided before having kids that I wanted to be home with them. It went against the norm, but I felt that one hectic career in the family was enough. After moving back to Maryland from southern Germany, I decided to give up my career and became a stay-at-home mom. The moment both my kids were off to college, I began to write. Now I proudly call myself an author.

I was a stay-at home-mom until my kids started school full-time, then I returned to my teaching career. I feel sorry for others who’d like to stay home with their families but can’t. 

 What are your favorite and least favorite parts about being a writer?

 There is a magic that happens while I’m working on a story that is very intriguing. I always write up an outline of the beginning, middle, the dark moment and the end of every story. But as I get deep into the writing, the story develops a voice of its own and leads me to a place I never imagined. Some people may think that it’s not magic at all, but my ability to get closer to the story–really develop an understanding of who my characters are as well as experience how they think and feel. But for me, that special moment when I just shake my head and think, “where in the heck did that come from,” really is magic. I may always end back up where I’m supposed to be, but those rare moments of magic make writing the most exciting job.

The part I struggle with even after four books is the promotion writers need to do today to get their book noticed. With some many free and 99 cents books available all the time, it is so hard be noticed through all that noise. Promoting a book is like raising children. Just because a promotional strategy worked for the first book, doesn’t mean it will work for the second, fifth, tenth. There are no clear answers because the game is constantly changing.

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to other writers?

Write! Revise! Write again. If you are serious about becoming a published author, accept that it’s not going to be an easy road.  Take your writing seriously and learn your craft. Keep an open mind and be willing to sometimes change the way you see your story.  My most important piece of advice: You will never be published if your manuscript never leaves your laptop. You have to query it out all over the place. When you receive a rejection, read it, learn from it, store it away in it’s own file, and get back to writing.

 Do you prefer silence or to have music on when you’re writing? What kind?

 Oh great question. Music is what brings out the emotion in my writing.  Each book in this series had it’s own unique playlist. For instance, In the Shadow of Greed, I listened to Jason Mraz, Mika, Norah Jones, and Adele. Their voices brought out that heart-wrenching emotion I needed to write not only the love scenes, but those dark moments when my characters were at their worst. In the Shadow of Pride demanded the sounds of the cello. Whatever the story, I lose myself in the music. It clears my mind and allows the words to just flow.

How’d you get the idea for In the Shadow of Pride?

Without giving away too much about the story, the internal conflict between my hero, Mac McNeil and heroine, Lexie Trevena formed in my head as I was writing In the Shadow of Greed. I knew I wanted a small piece of Greed that I just touched on in chapter one to be the beginning of Pride. That small crumb was what was going to cause the most internal conflict between Mac and Lexie. However, I had no idea what the external conflict was going to be. When I began to outline Pride, I scoured news articles and real life cases in the FBI news blog for potential ideas. The words Unmanned Aerial Vehicle popped off the page. Drones! How fun would that be? I spent more hours than I care to admit researching drone technology, but what a blast I had crashing that internal conflict smack into the external conflict. Rest assured. It may take Mac and Lexie a few pages to get to their happy ending, but when they do, it’s explosive.

How’s book #5 in the Shadow Series coming along…inquiring minds want to know! 

I’m just beginning to write In the Shadow of Vengeance. This book is going to bring my entire McNeil family together in one place. This will be Noah’s story, and he’s going to need all of his brothers to deal with what I have in store for him and the woman who he will fine his happy-ever-after with, Elizabeth Merlot.

Tell us what genre(s) you write in, why, and what your experiences are like writing it. 

I write romantic suspense with sometimes a touch of the supernatural. I chose this genre because it is what I love reading. I love the romance first in the story, but the suspense adds a level of depth to a story I don’t find in other romances.

 What was your favorite scene to write in In the Shadow of Pride?  Why?

 Oh this is a hard question. There are several very intense scenes in Pride that force my hero and heroine to work together. Since I have to pick just one, I love the scene where Mac has to put all of his distrust of Lexie aside and rescue her from my villain’s hands. This is one of those changing points in the story where Mac and Lexie are thrown into such an intense situation, they can’t help seeing a different side of each other. However, they are not quite ready to trust each other completely. As a writer, it’s so much fun creating these ‘baby’ steps that bring them closer and closer together.

What scene gave you the most trouble In the Shadow of Pride? Why?

Oh, hands down the technical aspects of this book. I read numerous articles about drone technology, GPS spoofing and computer viruses. Thank God I have a great technical team who are willing to read through everything before I show it to anyone.

Where can we find you on the internet? (Links, please!) 

Nancy C Weeks profile picture Find Nancy at:

 Website: http://nancycweeks.com. FREE CHAPTERS OF MY BOOKS CAN BE FOUND ON MY WEBSITEJ

 Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/NancyCWeeksAuthor

 Twitter: @NancyCWeeks

 Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7009278.Nancy_C_Weeks

 Pinterest:http://www.pinterest.com/nancycweeks/

 Where can we find your books? (Links, please!)

 Look for In the Shadow of Pride at: 

Crimson Romance ebooks | Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Kobo | Google Play | BAM

 Buy links for the first three books in my In the Shadow series:

IN THE SHADOW OF EVIL:

AMAZON: http://amzn.to/1fgBXl7

BARNES AND NOBLE: http://bit.ly/17hjfco

iTUNES: http://bit.ly/1f05ToH

CRIMSON ROMANCE: http://www.crimsonromance.com/

IN THE SHADOW OF GREED

AMAZON: http://amzn.to/16ZTUl3

BARNES AND NOBLE: http://bit.ly/16GHb6I

iTUNES: http://bit.ly/17JKTvi

CRIMSON ROMANCE: http://www.crimsonromance.com/

IN THE SHADOW OF MALICE

AMAZON: http://amzn.com/B00IPSCP8

BARNES AND NOBLE: http://bit.ly/1dId2db

ITUNES: http://bit.ly/1drdtFA

CRIMSON ROMANCE: http://www.crimsonromance.com/

As an added bonus, Nancy is giving away, one free digital copy of any book in her series to one lucky commenter. Winner’s choice.  All you have to do is comment on the following question:

Have you ever started seeing someone you thought you disliked in a different light, and that new view, brought you closer together?

Comment for your chance to win. Nancy will reply to all comments, so if there’s something else you’d like to ask her instead. go ahead.

Thanks for being here Nancy. Good luck with all your books. 

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Look Who Dropped By Today: Nancy Weeks

  1. Susanne,
    You have such a wonderful website and blog. I’m so thrilled to be here. Thank you again for helping me spread the news about In the Shadow of Pride. I really loved writing Mac and Lexie’s story. Part of me is having a little trouble letting go of this couple.

Leave a Reply

