Old Dogs Hate Learning New Tricks!

I’m an old dog, and it seems for the last three years, all I’ve been doing is leaning new tricks. I was very proud of myself when I managed to set up my very own blog. I figured out how to use it quickly enough, and my son linked it to my webpage–bless him for that because I’d never have managed that!

So, what have I learned to do in the past three years? Well, I’ve managed to figure out how to  write romance novels that publishers will buy and release–I just haven’t figured out how to write a best seller yet! All of my books have sold a few copies and been well-received by the readers. My upcoming releases I hope will do as well. 

       .Just for the Weekend cover.in-plain-sight-147x221          fire-angel-147x221

EchoesofthePast_SM On His Watch

So what else have I learned? I learned to format and publish a book myself on Amazon, Smashwords, and Create Space. I’m not brave enough to attempt to design my own covers! Thanks got to Anca and Classy Designs, http://classydesignsbycoly.wordpress.com/book-cover-templates-for-authors/ for that! I even learned to make a teaser, too. You saw it when you opened the blog.CP- Front Cover

Probably the most interesting skill I’ve developed is the ability to co-author books with my writing partner, Misty Cail. Under the name, Misty Matthews, we’ve written a novella that continues to sell well.Grand Slam cover Misty and I have just signed a FOUR book deal with Secret Cravings Publishing. The first book, Coming Home,  in the Taking a Chance on Love Series will be released in September. We are really anxious to see the new cover. Book 2 will be released in the Spring of 2015. We hope these books do as well as Grand Slam has done.

The other thing I learned to do was insert images into the text wherever I want them of the new Word Press format. Very proud of myself for that–for being brave enough to post in help and ask for it to be explained to me, and for almost understanding the process. 

So, what else is there for me to learn? LOTS!!! I continue to write with the hope that I will eventually master the SHOW, DON’T TELL ideology that makes a book great, so I can actually write that bestseller someday  For now, as much as she doesn’t like it, this old dog will keep trying to learn new tricks. 

Keep in touch with me and my battle to understand technology, by following my website.http://www.mhsusannematthews.ca/ 

Ta,ta, for now. I’m off to master another skill! 

2 thoughts on “Old Dogs Hate Learning New Tricks!

Leave a Reply

