Finally, the Content Edits Are Done!

ImageHooray! Yippee! I thought I wouldn’t make it, but I did. The content edits are done on my latest Crimson Romance novel. I can say, in all honesty, I have never been so glad to be done with something in my life. I still have to wait for copyedits, but hopefully, considering all the work the editor and I put into this manuscript, copyedits will be few and easily handled. 

While every author understands their manuscripts will require some editing, and I’ve done plenty of it with the nine books I’ve published to date–some of them twice already–I never realized the extensive rewrites I’d be required to do to get this book up to Crimson specifications. I still wonder why they acquired the manuscript in the first place, but there was something there they liked, and they were willing to put the time and effort into getting the book edited to suit their needs. 

It was gruelling work to cut and slash a plot line I loved and change the romance thread, but with luck, the end product will be great and will appeal to the evolving romance market. Getting a finger on the pulse of the contemporary romance reader is hard. Today’s readers are critical of their heroes and heroines, no longer satisfied with love at first sight plots. To me, a strong believer in that and the idea of soul mates, it’s a real disappointment. Thankfully, my editor understands the fickle market, and while I miss the characters I created, the hero and heroine in this book have a unique appeal all their own, and the plot–what they kept–is a nail biting thriller. 

Prior to selling the book to Crimson, I had other opinions on it from people like myself who loved the romance thread, so I’ll save my tale of hero worship and unrequited love for another book. Seriously, how many authors are lucky enough to get two books out of one manuscript? With a new basic suspense thread, I have the romance thread written and ready to use. 

So what’s next? I need a time out. I need to seriously look at where I want to go and what I want to do. Maybe I’ll spend time working on that paranormal I started and get away from the romance genre for a while. I need to take time for my family and pick up the threads of my life. I’ve published one historical romance myself, and I have another waiting in the wings to either revise and resubmit, or revise and self publish. It’s a tough choice. I also have three manuscripts with publishers and I’m waiting to hear whether or not they’ll be accepted. Today, I’ll breathe a sigh of relief. 

When the cover comes out, I’ll get all excited about it again, but for now. It’s time to sip wine and enjoy the sun. I’ve earned it. 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

