Self-Promotion and New Things

ImageLet me start by saying I suck at self-promotion. I have no marketing sense, and it shows. Oh, I’ve done all the things I’m supposed to do to promote myself. I have a website, a Goodreads author page, a Facebook authImageo
r page
, an Amazon author page  and a twitter page, and yet, I don’t seem to be promoting myself as well as I could.

The three novels I have under my own name,  Fire AngelIn Plain Sight, and  Just For The Weekend  seem to have pleased readers and reviewers, but they haven’t sold as well as I hoped they would. The novella I co-wrote under the name Misty Matthews, Grand Slam is in the same boat, although the novella has sold more copies than the others combined. I don’;t know what to do to improve sales and so, I try new things. I blog in as many places as I cImagean. Most recently, I was guest blogger on Heroes and Heartbreakers

In this day and age, publishers expect the author to do a large portion of the promotion for their books. That’s great if you have the resources to do it–not so good if you’re like myself. I don’t like bombarding my faceImage
book and twitter pages with buy, buy, buy, messages. I’m afraid it will upset and annoy my friends. So, what do I do? I try to blog about my books and hopefully interest those who read my blog into passing along the information. 

Since it’s all about contacts, recently, I started participating in something called Clever Quickies. It’s a Facebook group that meets on Mondays and puts out short, 140 character writing bits. I’ve challenged myself to write a sci-fi novella this way. If you’d like to check it out, follow the link. Clever Quickies

 To bring you up to date on my last seven weeks of posts, here you go:

Probably going to call it:  Blood Fever

The moon had risen above the horizon when Striker heard someone approaching the fence. Only a fool would be out when the creatures hunted. As alert as he was, the slight rustling of dead leaves echoed like thunder. Her sickly sweet scent wafted in the air and turned his stomach. She’s hungry. When was the last time she’d feasted on his cattle? He’d found a bloodless fawn a week ago, but it wouldn’t have been enough. She had young to feed, and food was scarce in the Eloisian Desert. The electrified barbed wire he’d strung would keep her at bay, but only so long.

“She’s out there, isn’t she?” Brad handed him a java substitute.

“Yeah. I don’t know if she’ll take the bait, but it was worth a shot. We’ve got to stop her before the last change. Once she’s airborne, no one’s safe.”

“You mean kill her? She’s your sister!”

“Was. Isn’t anymore.” Striker took a mouthful of the bitter brew. “You know as well as me, Marissa isn’t human now. Once she got infected, she was as good as dead.”

You can follow me a few others by checking the Clever Quickie site on Mondays. Want to play along? Comment or add your own Clever Quickie. 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

