Door Closed? Open the Window.

Today’s blog has nothing to do with the A to Z Blog Challenge. I thought it would be a good time to clear the air about my writing career, and where things sit for me at the moment. Many of you know by now that I’ve lost not one but two publishers in the last six weeks. Entranced shut its door and put the book I had with them back into the “to be sold” pile. When Front Porch Romance announced that it was shutting its doors due to the publishers ill health, it left six books without a home–two of them consigned to the “to be sold” pile and four others tossed into limbo.

At this moment in time, while the  ebook versions are no longer being sold, there are  paperback copies of Holiday MagicThe Perfect Choice and The Captain’s Promise available. Once the copies are gone, the books, as they sit now, will be gone forever. I’m not sure what I will do with these books. Will I self-publish them, or will I look for a publisher willing to reissue them? I’m not sure. Either way, I will definitely do something with them before the end of the year. Most likely, I will revise them and reissue them under new titles, so watch for that. I promise to make enough changes by adding information that if you bought the first book, you’ll buy the new one just to see what’s new.

I do want to thank everyone who purchased one of my FPR books and provided reviews or had me as a guest on their blogs. While it hurts to know these books will no longer be available, it reassures me to know that while they loved, they were enjoyed and loved by those who read them. They will continue to be displayed on Goodreads because, on Goodreads, once a book has been published, it never disappears. That’s reassuring to me because it lets me remember that people values them. I will take note of the comments made and use them to make improvements to the story and satisfy my harshest critics. 

In the meantime, I’ll continue to write and release books with my other publishers–Sweet/Secret Cravings and Crimson Romance. Fire Angel, In Plain Sight and Just For The Weekend are available wherever ebooks are sold. Grand Slam, my Misty Matthews co-effort, is available too, for those who like a quick read–at only 16,000 words, it’s a snippet of a story, complete in itself, but it’s only a moment in time. It’s a novella, a short story. Come July 14, 2014, Echoes of the Past will be available too.

Being an author is a life of ups and downs. At the moment, I’m down, but I won’t stay that way. I wish Madison Connor improved health and happiness. To all my FPR and Entranced fellow authors, I wish success in whatever path you choose to follow. Don’t give up your dreams of becoming an author. That bestseller may be the next book you write. 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

