K is for Karma

ImageWelcome to today, brought to you by the letter “K”. Today’s post is late because everything conspired against me. First, I slept in late because I went to see a Beatles tribute band last night and had just a little bit to drink. Then, when I did get up, I had trouble choosing a topic. The letter “K” isn’t an easy one. When I’d decided on my topic, it was time to drive my husband to the Curling Club for the closing day games for the industrial league in which he curls. Of course, Saturday is also the day I do my running around–this week it took longer and required more stops because I had to pick up a few Easter goodies for the grandchildren and hubby. When I finally got home, I was starved and had to eat. Thought I’d treat myself to cabbage rolls, and I spilled them in the oven–so I had to clean up that mess… You get the idea. It did one good thing–it helped me pick my topic. 

You guessed it. Today’s A to Z Blog Challenge, blog is all about karma–you never know what’s waiting for you out there or how much the decisions you make affect the outcome. 

According to Dictionary.com, Karma is a term with four possible meanings:

  1. Hinduism, Buddhism. action, seen as bringing upon oneself inevitable results, good or bad, either in this life or in a reincarnation: in Hinduism one of the means of reaching Brahman.
  2. Theosophy. the cosmic principle according to which each person is rewarded or punished in one incarnation according to that person’s deeds in the previous incarnation.
  3. fate; destiny. Synonyms: predestination, predetermination, lot, kismet.
  4. the good or bad emanations felt to be generated by someone or something: Let’s get out of here. This place has bad karma.  

Basically, I can explain some of today using definition # 1. I was late getting up, because I chose to stay up late and drink yesterday. No one to blame but myself for that, but I had such a great time that it was worth it. For the rest of the daily disasters, I guess I have to turn to # 3. The stores were crowded and the holiday shopping slowed me down. That’s it; that’s all.

Can we change our karma? It all depends on whether or not you believe in destiny and fate. I wanted to be an author. I work hard to create manuscripts to entertain readers. I polish those manuscripts and submit them to publishers, and hope they will garner a great audience and make enough money to allow me some of the perks I couldn’t otherwise enjoy. Do I deserve to reap the benefit of my hard work? I think so, but unfortunately that doesn’t always happen. Publishers close up shop without notice and without paying royalties. In the publishing industry today, that happens far more often than you might think. Can I change what happened? No, but I can make damn sure it doesn’t happen again. 

ImageMy latest book, Just For The Weekend, is coming out on Monday. It’s being released by Crimson Romance, a reputable publisher that so far has paid my royalties on time. I love this book. My editor, Julie, gave me excellent advice to make the book more appealing to the younger reader. She didn’t try to change my voice, so despite any changes made, it’s still my book, my story. I really want this story to do well. I’ve done my part–l polished the manuscript until it shone, set up a series of blog tour stops for myself, have reviews in and more to come, and I plan to tweet about the book on Monday too. Now, what happens to it is karma.  May the gods be kind and grant Just For The Weekend  much success. 

About the Book:

Sometimes, you have to step out of the box.

Kindergarten teacher, Cleo James, needs a break. For the past three years, she’s put her life on hold to help her father deal with grief, but now she’s ready to move on. A weekend in Vegas at a sci-fi convention may be just the place to start. She’ll be costumed as an alien and no one will recognize her. What could go wrong? Things get complicated when she’s attracted to a conventioneer whom she believes is a gorgeous Chippendale dancer.  Can Cleo set her strict moral code aside and enjoy what promises to be a once upon a time weekend?

Multimillionaire real estate developer, Sam Mason has sworn off serious relationships. In Vegas to visit family and friends, he’s talked into attending a sci-fi convention for the night. Dressed as an alien, he’s confident he can elude the usual gold diggers looking to star in the role of Mrs. Sam Mason. When he spots a beautiful woman dressed as a green-skinned slave girl, he’s captivated by her and changes his plans to leave Vegas in the morning. The more time he spends with her, the more he realizes she’s unlike any woman he’s known. Fantastic sex and too much alcohol find him married to his alien siren, but before he can tell her the truth about himself and see if they can make their marriage work, the bride vanishes.  Finding her is going to be a challenge.

Just for the Weekend is available Monday from all major e-book distributors. You can pre-order it too!

Amazon        Barnes and Nobles     Kobo

Check out the other  A to Z Blog Challenge, postings too. 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

