Where Are You Spring?

It’s snowing again. March 22, and it’s snowing again! Isn’t that the most depressing thing you’ve ever heard? I love snow. I look forward to it for Christmas, but in March? Not so much. I took this photograph from my living room window last week. See the snow? See the beautiful blue sky? Well today, the snow’s as high, but the sky’s an uncompromising, miserable gray, and the snow is coming down heavily. We may get six to nine inches before it’s done this time.  When will it end? 

Image

I’m a Canadian. I’ve heard the jokes about our super politeness. I’ve seen the commercials that have us go from summer to winter at the drop of a hat, but I’ve had it. We’re supposed to be rugged and hardy and used to this stuff, but seriously, enough is enough.  But, I think I have to accept some blame for Mother Nature’s confusion.

Didn’t I whine and complain it was too hot and too muggy last summer? Didn’t I hide in the air conditioned house rather than go out and bask in the heat? How many times did I say, “if only it were five or ten degrees cooler.”  No wonder Mother Nature’s confused! There was no satisfying me. 

This year I pledge not to complain about the heat. I won’t stay inside and  spend my days writing. I’m going out there to enjoy the sun. There are bound to be rainy days for work and storytelling. I’ll treasure the hot days and embrace the warm nights. I’ll remember each of the -40 degree days and the close to 100 inches of snow we had. This summer I swear, I won’t complain–well not as much.

So, as I watch the weather alert, I’m putting on my optimistic smile and planning to see grass for Easter. Come on, Mother Nature. You’ve got a month to get this mess cleaned up. 

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where Are You Spring?

  1. I live in the mountains too (in southern California) but we’re way behind in our snowfall which will mean a high fire danger summer. Think of the song from Annie–“the sun will come out tomorrow…”

Leave a Reply

