What Springtime Activity Is Your Favorite?

Welcome to this stop on the Books To Go Now’s Spring Fling Blog Hop. 

Image

It’s great to be part of this blog tour. At the end of the blog, please comment on this page for your chance to win an autographed paperback  copy of Fire Angel. Make sure you leave your email address so I can contact you an address.  If you reside outside Canada or the U.S., I’ll be glad to send you a digital copy instead. 

According to the calendar, spring starts on March 20, this year and I’ve only got one thing to say about that–has anyone given Mother Nature the date? At the moment, it’s a balmy -25 C, -13 for my American friends, and according to 14 day forecast, it isn’t going to rise much above 0 C, 32 F. In fact, the highs and lows are all expected to be below average for the duration. The national weather gurus predict we’ll have unseasonably cold weather right into May. I miss the heat! 

This has been the longest winter that I can remember. It started in November, and so far we’ve had 180 cm, 71 inches of snow, and there’s more in the forecast. We also had another 366 mm, 14 inches, of rain. This winter we had days where the temperature hovered around -40, at that temperature the Celsius and Fahrenheit scale meets. So, as I look out my window–it’s a beautiful, if cold, day, I turn my thoughts to spring –sure they do!

My favorite spring activity isn’t spring cleaning, but it does involve tidying. As soon as the ground is dry, which may not be until June given the amount of snow we still have, I love to go out and putter in the yard, cleaning out the flower beds for the spring and summer flowers to come. I enjoy watching the tiny plants force their way out of the ground. I love to see the buds on the trees and the blooms on the lilac bushes. Most of all, I like being outside after being cooped up inside so long. It’s great to see the song birds come back and get rid of the huge flocks of crows that haunt our trees in winter. They don’t call it a murder of crows without reason! 

I have a gorgeous yard surrounded by a vine that may look like crap at the moment, but turns into a solid green wall in spring and summer. My yard becomes a green grotto where I can sit and enjoy the sunny days and the starry nights. I try to have at least one moonlight scene in all of my books because I love sitting out on a warm spring/summer night, watching the fire in the outdoor firepit and enjoying a glass of wine or a cold beer. 

It may still be winter outside, but now, my thoughts are firmly fixed on spring. 

Follow other blogs in this blog hop by clicking on this link:BWS tips button</ 

Don’t forget to comment to win a  paperback copy of Fire Angel digital copy of these books.

 Image

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to What Springtime Activity Is Your Favorite?

  1. Mims Smith Blue says:

    I love Spring. Thanks for the giveaway!

    mimismithblue AT gmail DOT com

  2. I celebrate Spring by beautifying my front porch with all manner of plants, flowers and decorative pots. I finish up with a new cushion for my favorite chair and I’m set for endless days of reading and relaxing.

    ilookfamous(at)yahoo(dot)com

  3. Virginia H says:

    I enjoy just taking long walks and enjoy the warmer tempts.

    lead AT hotsheet DOT com

  4. Thanks for the hop.
    magic5905 at embarqmail dot com

  5. I celebrate spring by doing the annual spring cleaning. Out with the old, in with the new! hiking in the woods is my favorite activity.

    jacobsone AT katewwdb DOT com

  6. Natasha says:

    My favorite springtime activity is reading outside.
    Thanks for the chance to win!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

  7. elizabeth Inglee-richards says:

    It hasn’t been that cold here mostly around 20F but we have had over 68 inches of snow – that is not normal in the Mid-Atlantic region.

    Next comes floods – I’ve been looking at pictures of Calgary from last June to get ready

    elizabethingleerichards@gmail.com

  8. Sitting out on my patio with the firepit and a glass of wine is also one of my favorite things to do!

    Shannon
    sabai30705(at)yahoo(dot)com

  9. bn100 says:

    Looking forward to flowers

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  10. Thanks to all who’ve commented. I’ll draw a name on March 12th. Good luck to all who entered.

  11. We’ve had a few days of false spring. Today looks like snow. Ick. Ick. Ick. Thank you for the chance to win your lovely signed book. michelle_willms at yahoo dot com

  12. amy bowens says:

    I am so ready for spring! All of this snow can just melt away! Thanks for sharing and have a great day!
    amybowens34(at) yahoo (dot) com

  13. Renee H. says:

    Starting a veggie garden with my kids, swimming and daily walks 🙂 Thanks for participating!

    Renee bramgirl@hotmail.com

  14. robyn says:

    I like to get out and walk around in the weather when it’s nice. The trees are blooming and so is all the flowering bushes and flowers.

  15. Zoe says:

    I’m so happy to finally be able to get active outdoors again. What a fun hop! Thanks for the giveaway. 🙂
    writeforward at yahoo dot com

  16. Daniel M says:

    can’t wait for everything to turn green again

  17. Thank you all for reading my blog and commenting. Eric Jacobson is the winner of this blog’s prize. Don’t forget to keep following my blogs for other great chances to win.

  18. Teresa says:

    I love picnics and flowers.

  19. mrscrabbyfan says:

    I’m not sure Spring is going to come this year it’s still so cold here in WI Thank you for being part of the hop. mrscrabbyfan at gmail dot com

Leave a Reply

