Just For The Weekend

My life has changed in a split second it seems. One day I was a retired school teacher with more time on my hands than I knew what to do with, the next, I’m a published author, without enough time in my day to accomplish everything I need to do. 

Image

It absolutely amazes me to think how far I’ve come in such a short time. Last year at this time, I was all excited about the upcoming release of my first novel, Fire Angel, on April 29, 2013. This year, Crimson will release my latest book Just For The Weekend, on April 14, 2014. What a way to celebrate an anniversary! Unlike Fire Angel, Just For The Weekend is a contemporary romance–no evil villains in this one, although I have four of those to be released later in the spring and early summer.

The idea for this novel came from my husband’s fascination with Star Trek. It has long been his dream to attend a sci-fi convention, but the timing and cost, just haven’t worked out for us. Just after I sold Fire Angel, I was still part of a group of aspiring writers who had a monthly writing contest. No prizes involved but just a lot of help from like-minded budding authors. You’re given a theme, some words to use and voila! Write a 1,000 word story. I wrote a scene that appears in Just For The Weekend. I never submitted it. From the moment I started to write the scene I knew I wanted to do more with it. I played around with it off and on for the next few months and decided to try my hand with it at Harlequin’s SYTYCW. The first chapter was well-received by readers and writers, but didn’t make the cut. I’d finished the story as required and after some tweaking, I subbed it to Crimson. I’m glad I did.

My editor was wonderful and helped me polish the story to make it the best it could be. 

About Just For The Weekend:

Sometimes, you have to step out of the box.

Kindergarten teacher, Cleo James, needs a break. For the past three years, she’s put her life on hold to help her father deal with grief, but now she’s ready to move on. A weekend in Vegas at a sci-fi convention may be just the place to start. She’ll be costumed as an alien and no one will recognize her. What could go wrong? Things get complicated when she’s attracted to a conventioneer whom she believes is a gorgeous Chippendale dancer.  Can Cleo set her strict moral code aside and enjoy what promises to be a once upon a time weekend?

Multimillionaire real estate developer, Sam Mason has sworn off serious relationships. In Vegas to visit family and friends, he’s talked into attending a sci-fi convention for the night. Dressed as an alien, he’s confident he can elude the usual gold diggers looking to star in the role of Mrs. Sam Mason. When he spots a beautiful woman dressed as a green-skinned slave girl, he’s captivated by her and changes his plans to leave Vegas in the morning. The more time he spends with her, the more he realizes she’s unlike any woman he’s known. Fantastic sex and too much alcohol find him married to his alien siren, but before he can tell her the truth about himself and see if they can make their marriage work, the bride vanishes.  Finding her is going to be a challenge.

Leave a Reply

