Writing With a Partner and Book Blitz

Good morning!

I hope the fact we’re only a month away from spring makes everyone feel good. Here in Eastern Canada, we’ve had snow since early November and I, for one, am more than ready to look up from my computer and see something green instead of white!

Misty Matthews, which consists of author Misty Cail and myself, is having a book blitz over the next few days and you’re invited to join the fun. Check out the website and follow the posts. There’ll be book excerpts and e-book giveaways for everyone. Follow the link below and join us in our first attempt at this. Misty or I will be around periodically, so you’ll have a chance to chat with us too. You’ll find links to other blogs on a number of different topics, Q & A, character interviews, and so much more.

Image

 https://www.facebook.com/events/580680662027265/

Writing With a Partner:

Coming Home, Book One of Taking a Chance on Love is indeed a work of love, the brainchild of the Misty part of the co-authorship. Misty created the town of Chance and all its loveable characters. It was her imagination that gave the story a life of its own. Connor and Alana became real for me when she sent me the first plot draft of Chapter One of the story.

I’ve been asked how two people who’ve never met and live over a thousand miles apart can collaborate on a book and the answer is simple. The Internet. In the twenty-first century, it makes distance irrelevant. Misty and I met online through an author chat. We hit it off. After a few months of sharing thoughts and ideas, we decided to co-author a book. She sent me the story, chapter by chapter, and I used her words to flesh out the characters. There isn’t a story without Misty’s plot. Her vision drove the romance as surely as Alana drove her motorcycle. I was the passenger along for the ride.

So what was my part in the creation of the novel? In addition to verifying grammar and sentence structure, I did the research and added the details. If the scene takes place in the desert, I made the desert come alive on the page of the book. If the scene was at home, I added those bits that made home a real place. My prior novels provided some information I was able to use to bring other sections of the story to life, but, since this is a no-spoiler blog, you’ll have to read the novel to find them.

Misty uses pictures for motivation, I do too, but not the same way she does. Connor and Alana live in my mind as do all the characters I create in my own novels. My Connor resembles my husband the way he was when we met at Carleton University. My Alana resembles my niece with the same name, and while my vision of the main characters may differ from Misty’s, the places they visit, for the most part, are real. I found countless pictures of the Sonora Desert and Havasu Falls to help me describe those places. I poured over maps of Arizona, checked moonphase tables and temperature charts to make sure our book was accurate. if someone in Phoenix reads Coming Home, we wanted them to say–Yeah; it’s just like that! 

Since completing Coming Home, Misty and I have collaborated on a short story, Grand Slam, available where e-books are sold, and are currently working on Book Two of Taking a Chance on Love. We’re taking a chance readers enjoy our books and want to read more of them. So, if you’ve read Coming Home and liked it, please review it. Reviews drive sales and as poor fledgling authors, we need your support to get people to know our work is out there for their enjoyment.. Please Take a Chance on us and support Coming Home. 

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

