New Year’s Resolutions.

ImageHappy 2014. I wish I could be as happy about the passage of time as I used to be, but it seems the years are going by much too quickly now. It doesn’t seem that long ago we were all waiting for the electronic world to crash in the year 2000, and then weren’t we all biting our nails over the doomsday predictions for December 2012? Thankfully, none of those gloomy prophecies came to pass, and time still marches on way too fast. My beautiful grandchildren were born and grow more beautiful each day. The eldest will soon be thirteen–where has time gone? 

2013 was an amazing year for me, one with a tremendous learning curve that still has me reeling. Becoming an author was a dream come true, making a living at it, is a dream yet to happen. I’ve learned my way around the social media sites. I’ve become a blogger with over a hundred followers. I have had more than six thousand hits on my website, and almost a thousand likes on my Facebook author page. I’ve sold six books of my own, another co-written, and a short story due out later this month. 

I’ve also had black moments in 2013. I lost a favored uncle and of course my wonderful mother-in-law. I’ve had reviews that have wounded me, but I need to remind myself that there are books I’ve read and haven’t liked–everyone’s taste is different. I’ve had rejections too, but like reviews, not every book suits every publisher. Rejections aren’t the end;instead, they are just the next step in a long road to publication. Those orphans will get cleaned and polished, and someone else will want them, but a form rejection always leaves an ache behind. Knowing why a book doesn’t fit a line eases the pain, not knowing just makes the pain ache longer.  Time marches forward, and while we can’t do anything about the past, we can try to learn from it. 

Image

 

Each year, it’s been some sort of poorly kept tradition to make New Year’s resolutions–most of which have centered around diet and lifestyle–resolutions that never lasted for more than a week or two at best. How many years have I vowed to lose weight, eat better, and get more exercise? Too many to count. This year, along with the resolutions I probably won’t keep anymore than I have in the past, I have made a few I hope I’ll be able to keep. 

In 2014, I’ll try my best to do the following:

  • Eat breakfast each morning–nothing big just something to stimulate the brain.
  • Write at least three hours a day. Being an author is a job that has to be done with the same zeal and energy I used to put into teaching. 
  • Blog once a week. It’s a way to reach out to others. Invite authors to visit and post on my blog too. 
  • Do some kind of exercise each day–walk, dance, anything to get my heart rate up. Housework counts too. 
  • Read before bed each night and remember the struggles authors go through to create their books.Offer constructive criticism and support. Like me, they have fragile hearts and egos.
  • Be more assertive in promoting my work in as many ways as I can, maybe even try to find an agent. 
  •  Have at least six books published in 2014–that’s as many as I had last year. 
  • Revise, rewrite, and otherwise complete all writing projects I begin, including those I started long ago, but never finished. An unfinished book can’t be published!
  •  Never forget how lucky I am, and how much fun it is to be an author!
  • Learn to lean on others for support when I need it, especially Misty and the other Scribbler Sisters.
  • Always remember every day is a gift from God. Don’t let me waste a minute of them. 

What resolutions have you made?

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.