A Visit from Santa

Last night I went over to my daughter’s house for the annual family get-together and a visit from a very special guest. My daughter has four children–8,7,6, and 4 and a half. My 7 year old grandnephew and my 6 year old grandniece were there as well as my granddaughters’ 7 year old best friend.

There is nothing like the glow of happiness on the faces of children when Santa enters the house, his sack bulging with gifts for everyone there–not just the little ones, but the the 10, 12, and 18 year old as well as the rest of the adults. Each of us got to sit on Santa’s knee and get our gifts. My husband got a can of cashews, and I got a reindeer-shaped photoframe ornament. I think I’ll put the image of my first published book in it.

Each year, my daughter opens her home to all of us and arranges for the jolly old elf to make a call. We were 22 last night. We brought appetizers and wine, but she looks after everything else. It’s her contribution to the holiday. This year, all the kids were the perfect age. No one was afraid or cried, and even better, those under 10 still believe. We sang, had a few drinks, and the kids all loved their gifts–lego, knights in armor, and  zombie dolls to name a few. 

There is nothing as magical as Christmas through the eyes of a child. Merry Christmas. 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

