Holiday Magic and Christmas

Christmas is all about love. The first two books in my Holiday Magic Series were written with the holidays in mind. Everything is possible at Christmas when love and goodwill abounds.

Christmas is my favorite time of year. I’m a Christmas music junkie. I could listen to those songs twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week for the entire month and never get tired of them. I’m particularly into Neil Diamond’s Christmas albums. He does a great job on the traditional carols, but no one can sing Blue Christmas like Elvis.

There are some traditions in our family that I treasure above all others. My Christmas tree isn’t a themed one, unless you consider the theme the story of my life. I have ornaments that belonged to my grandparents–crystal icicles that hung on their tree when I was a child. I also have ornaments that were gifts from grateful students over the years–much better than scented soap and bath salts, although at one point I had an impressive collection of coffee mugs. I have ornaments I’ve made and ornaments made by my children. I also have ornaments from the places where we’ve holidayed over the years, and of course, there are ornaments to commemorate the birth of each of my grandchildren. 

In addition, I have well-over 100 pewter ornaments in there too–some from the city of Kingston, others to mark the passing of the years. I’ll get another one this year for 2013, the year that marked my debut as an author. 

Attending church on Christmas Eve is a big part of my celebration as is coming home afterwards and drinking egg nog and watching A Christmas Carol. Now that my grandchildren are older, four of them take part in our church’s annual Christmas Eve pageant. This year, they and their mother were the ones to do the first Advent reading and light the Candle of Hope. 

Here’s hoping your Christmas is filled with love and magic. 

 

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holiday Magic and Christmas

  1. kari lemor says:

    Oh, yeah, coffee mugs and ornaments. I’m still getting them. Each year it gets harder to smile my thanks at the newest but I do and pass out the hugs for them. I also have some very old ornaments. Some over 100 years old that were my mother’s grandmother’s. This year I can pass some down to my married daughter as she celebrates her first year of marriage and their first child. God Bless us all!

Leave a Reply

