I’m a Real Writer!

I’m  tired of hearing people say, You’re a writer? What do you write? The  answer to that is obvious. I write all kinds of things–grocery lists, to do lists, synopses, pitches, and novels. Usually, my answer is, “I write romance novels in different sub-genres.”  So far so good. It’s the next question that gets me every time.

Really, what kind of romances? Is there a lot of sex in them like…? I give them the laundry list of my available books, explain I write romance, not erotica–not that there’s anything wrong with that– and then they come in for the kill. Where can I buy them?

“They’re available online from any of the e-book stores like Amazon and Kobo, or from my publisher’s site.”  And then they hit me with the line–Ohh, you write e-books. Their eyes glaze over and you realize you’ve lost them, and a potential sale. Gee, I’d have bought one if I could have gotten it at Coles, or Indigo, or wherever “real” books are sold. 

Why do so many people believe continue to believe that e-books aren’t real books? My novel, The Captain’s Promise, is now available in print,  but because it won’t be sold at the local bookstore, according to these gurus, it doesn’t qualify as a “real” book. How frustrating and how painful.

The hours of work that went into the books makes them as real as every other book, but how do you convince people of that? The funniest line I got was when someone suggested I donate a copy of the book to the library, but wasn’t sure the library would want it–they only have real books there. 

Writing the books has been easy. Getting people to buy, read, and review them not so much. I’m not a public relations/media savvy type of person. I’ve done the social venues, tried to push the book, but the sales aren’t there, and I’m at a loss as to how to improve them. I have everything in place except a reader following. It’s discouraging to say the least. 

Now, I’m on the brink of having another book released. This time it’s a simultaneous release of print and e-book, and I worry it won’t do well because of those who still believe real books only exist in bookstores.  

Well, I guess, this is where I believe in the power of positive thinking and Christmas magic. Okay friends, I’m tossing you the torch. Spread the word. Susanne Matthews writes real books–good books according to her editors and reviewers. Let’s see if I can build a following with your help.

 

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

