Patience Is a Virtue in Short Supply!

What is patience? It is the ability or willingness to suppress restlessness and annoyance when confronted with delay.  It is the bearing of provocation, annoyance, misfortune,or pain without complaint, loss of temper, irritation, or the like.

I have come to the conclusion that, after years of patience as a teacher, constantly waiting on others for assignments, homework, and the like, I am no longer a patient person; in fact, I’ve probably become one of the most impatient people I know. Why? Because of writing, of course.

I want instant gratification, and that is something an author never gets! I can provide it for myself in my writing–kill the sucker off, engage in the romantic love scene, find the clues to the crime, but once I finish the manuscript and send it off to the publisher, it’s gone–out of my hands, and the waiting begins.

At the moment, I am waiting impatiently for two things–an editor’s approval or disapproval of a manuscript and the cover for one of my books. Sadly, because the cover artist was unwell, my book, The Captain’s Promise wasn’t released on schedule last week because it had no cover. I impatiently await the cover and the book’s release, but my level of frustration seems to know no bounds. I wonder if this is a sign that something else will go wrong with the book’s sales. Have I tempted fate by stepping out of the box?

There is nothing I can do but wait and pray.

 

 

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Patience Is a Virtue in Short Supply!

  1. Pingback: Patience Is a Virtue in Short Supply! | mhsusannematthews

Leave a Reply

