Friends Forever

Yesterday was my big day; my first novel, Fire Angel, was officially put on the market by Crimson Romance. I am now officially a published author. Having an e-book released for sale is quite a bit different from a hardcover or softcover book release party — there are no books to autograph, no speeches to deliver although I did blog on the Crimson Romance site, and no champagne, balloons and confetti. It was almost, but not quite anti-climatic.

I celebrated my Release Day because my very best and oldest friends–time-wise not age-wise came to spend the day with me. They are my BFFs long before BFFs ever existed.

Rob and Faye have been friends of mine for close to fifty years, that’s right fifty years. I met him first when my parents purchased a cottage on lake St. Francis. I was ten, and he was my first boyfriend. I met Faye at St Lawrence High School a few years later, and introduced them, and the rest is history. They’ll be married 41 years in August, just a few days shy of a year less than John and I.

Over the years, time and circumstances have intervened and kept us apart, but when we meet, it’s as if we saw one another only days rather than weeks or months or even years ago. We’ve been parents and are now grandparents but that hasn’t changed the essence of who we are and why our friendship works. That’s how it is with friends; they know you so well that little things like time and distance make no difference.

Faye has been after me for years to write a book; she’s been certain all along that my success would be guaranteed if I just sat down and did it.This year, I finally did as I was told, and in some ways, the thrill of the moment is as great for her as it is for me. Friends celebrate with friends and for friends. She and Rob brought me a beautiful bouquet of flowers, and then the four of us went out to lunch. Considering that it was the day before the tax deadline, the fact that John made a point of joining us made the occasion even more special for me. I felt really special.

In life we need to remember to celebrate the little things as well as the big ones; thanks guys, for helping me celebrate this milestone. Image

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

