MovieTime

I don’t often go to see movies while they are still in the theatres, but when I do, I choose a movie that just won’t look as exciting on the small screen of our old-fashioned television set. Movies filled with all kinds of special effects fit the bill; films like any of the James Bond flicks, Avatar, Star Trek as well as the new 3D films that have become so popular.

Last night, I went to see the new Disney Oz, the Great and Powerful, and I loved it!. While the movie started slowly–black and white like the original film was, it picked up quickly. The introduction set up James Franco, the wizard, as a con man, one who plays fast and loose with the ladies — a real love’em and leave’em type, and it was well done.The terror of the twister ride to the magical land of Oz had me ducking flying debris. As my grand-kids would say, it was awesome!

The special effects were incredible, and this was by far the best 3D movie I have ever seen. I put up my hands to ward off flying weapons,bugs and all kinds of things. The china doll and the little winged monkey are so realistic that you can believe such beings could actually exist. By the way, the road sign post giving directions to the Emerald City, China Town, and the Dark Woods made me laugh. There’s a China town everywhere, only this one contained real china — teapot and and cup and saucer houses.

The creation of the wicked witch of the west  was a surprise, incredibly well-done, and easy to understand. It also sets the scene beautifully for a remake of Dorothy’s visit to Oz if Disney wants to pursue the tale as well as other battles between Glynda and Oz and the wicked witches. .

While I don’t think my kidlets are quite ready for this movie since there are some scary scenes that even had me jumping, all in all, I had a wonderful evening and felt truly entertained for the first time since seeing the last James Bond movie. It was money well-spent!

Image

 

Leave a Reply

