Dedications

I am finishing the final edits for FIRE ANGEL and the time has come to write the dedication for the book — who would ever have thought that this would be so difficult?

Without a doubt, my wild imagination is a gift from my father who told me countless stories as a child. I was a picky eater, not a problem now unfortunately, but Daddy would sit at the table and tell me of his jungle adventures, and I would gobble up everything on my plate. Of course my mother gave me the drive to succeed in school, and without that English degree, so many things would never have happened.

Becoming an author would have been impossible without my husband who has put up with me saying that I want to write a book for years. If it weren’t for his patience and tolerance, I probably would not have been able to sit at the computer, hours on end, working at my story.

Next, I have my children who have always encouraged me as I encouraged them. As Jake, the hero in FIRE ANGEL says, “If you want something badly enough …” My son, Greg, is my web designer, and is hard at work creating my online presence.

And then, there are long time friends like Faye, who has been after me to write my books forever, Fred who says “I knew you could do it,” and a lost friend, Judy, who died of cancer. This isn’t the first book I’ve written, but it’s the first I’ve sold, so a promise is a promise and I credit her too.

Last but not least are the ladies in my writing group — new friends, but friends without whose support I would never have done this. Each of them is a new or aspiring author. Take a bow Amber, Charlotte, Debbie, Elle, Laura, and Misty.

So there you have it; my dilemma.  The dedication isn’t supposed to be as long as the book, but how canI leave anyone out?

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dedications

  1. amberautry says:

    Great job. I think I’m going to have the same problem. But hey, if you write multiple books you’ll have plenty to mention everyone in them.

  2. Faye Sheppard says:

    Hey Sue,
    Needless to say I am touched by your dedication!
    Never did I doubt your inner passion to get the book done.
    It was in you all the time, but hence the problem.
    You are such a dedicated person, always finding time for others.
    I value your friendship and always will!! Atta go girl!!
    Love,
    Faye

Leave a Reply

