Stay a While

A few years ago, I suffered a serious illness during which i came quite close to dying. When I was home and out of danger, I wrote the following poem:

I wasn’t expecting him, but Death
Came calling all the same, with his
Bags of agony and pain. He wanted
To take me, but it was Christmas!
“No time to die,” said I. “Let me
Stay yet a while.” He shook
His head as if to say no, but I
Stopped him. “I can’t go yet,” I
Said, I have unfinished things to
Do. Please, let me stay a while.”
He smiled. “It’s not up to me,” said
He. “Your time is up, so sorry.”
“That cannot be,” I moaned in agony.
I haven’t seen the world outside;
I haven’t crossed the ocean wide;
I need to see my Hannah smile. Oh,
Please let me stay for just a little
While. And I heard a laugh come from
Above and the one who is Love said
“Why don’t we wait and see? Today’s
My birthday after all; no one will
Mind if I decide to stall.” So, I
Thanked him graciously. Today,
Death slowly walked away without me.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

