Awesome Authors

This is my third entry in the A to Z Blog Challenge. Since I started on Day C, I posted there first. 

I think the most wonderful thing that has come out of my writing career has been meeting other people, in particular the awesome authors who have become my facebook friends. In September of 2012, I decided to become serious about my writing and joined the Harlequin SYTYCW challenge. I knew nothing about becoming an author, other than the fact I wanted to tell a story. Gradually, I found the author boards at Harlequin and joined, slowly commenting on different things. 

Harlequin is the Holy Grail of aspiring romance writers, and while thousands of us send manuscripts there, few are chosen. I met some excellent writers on the boards. In one particular thread, there was a monthly writing challenge. People would write a 1,000 word story based on a theme, incorporating certain words provided by that month’s judge. I participated a few times, but once I sold Fire Angel, I bowed out. For me, as an unpublished author, those boards taught me many things, and when I was finally published–not with Harlequin–I stayed in touch with some of them. They have become friends in the truest sense of the word. Many have gone on to sign contracts with Harlequin, or its many imprints, and others have signed elsewhere as I did.

Among the many things offered by the Harlequin boards was the chance to pitch a story to Harlequin’s various editors. I haven’t sold a book to them although I did have a pich accepted, only to have the book rejected without a reason in the end. Through my first pitch experience, the one for Fire Angel in fact, I met some incredibly talented people. We formed a support group to get us through the pitching event. Sadly, due to what I like to call artistic temperament, the group eventually lost its focus. I did get the chance to meet some wonderful people, and unfortunately some I wish I hadn’t met, but such is life.

From that group, a smaller more cohesive group formed. These women and I have become family. We’ve shared tears over rejections and handshakes and celebrations over sales. Many of us have faced the heartbreak that comes with the dissolution of a publisher as seen in the recent Entranced debacle, but we soldier on, supporting one another as best we can because we are awesome authors one and all. So, I lift my glass to Christy, Danielle, Meredith, Anne, Nancy, Monica, Misty, Siren, Melinda,my friends, my mentors–awesome authors one and all.  I make new author friends everyday, and although I may not be getting rich form my book sales, I have a wealth of awesome authors as friends.  What more can a person want?

To learn more about me and my writing check out my website.

Now, time to visit the other blogs in the  A to Z Blog Challenge

2 thoughts on “Awesome Authors

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

